Beef Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I have made bulgogi for years,this is really close to the recipe I use but with having diabetics in the family I have cut down on the sugar and use pear extract or juice instead also I use a london broil partially frozen for easier slicing and we do in hot skillet so we get some of the juices remaining to put over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I love this recipe and so does my boyfriend! I did make some changes based off of other suggestions and my own experience, material on hand etc. I used brown sugar instead of white. I did not have green onion so I used spring onion. I also added rice wine vinegar and I had no sesame seeds. I like more garlic, so I also added another clove. At my local grocery store they sell shaved beef, so that made it a lot easier to put together. Awesome! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyplease

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe for dinner tonight. I left it overnight to marinade. I followed the recipe to prepare, but added much more onion and bell pepper while cooking. I also added much more sesame oil and soy sauce towards the end. I sautéed the onions, garlic and bell pepper before adding the meat, then added more before it was fully cooked. My family loved it. They thought I ordered in from a restaurant. I served it with white rice. Thank you for the new addition to my recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by degraftenreedf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is a phenomenal recipe and it is very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Excellent recipe! I followed this recipe very closely except I subbed top sirloin steak for the flank steak. I try to refrain from using refined sugar so I subbed a 1/2 cup of natural pear juice in place of the sugar. Natural pear juice has a neutral flavor and isn’t as sweet as using honey as a substitute for sugar. Outside of this recipe; I sautéed some carrot sticks, freshly grated ginger, sliced mushrooms and sliced onions to add with the bulgogi in red leaf lettuce wraps. The sautéed veggies subbed for kimchee that is traditionally used. I added some water to the reserved marinade, boiled it in a small pot for a minute or so and poured it over steamed rice. I also made a marinated cucumber salad as a side dish. My entire family loved this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My family always loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is the best way to cook flank steak, or any other tougher piece of beef, hands down. Even my kids loved it. I typically put it in the marinade the night before, but I've had it in for two nights with no ill effects. Boil the left over marinade and serve over jasmine rice. Enjoy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Didn't change anything on this recipe! FOR SURE A KEEPER! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Lewis Hanby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I really love this recipe. I use it monthly if not weekly. I use it as a base of a stir fry instead of just the meat....that way I get to use all the marinade! I throw in some veggies (what ever I have) along with the meat. Marinate as long as you can, then stir fry it up adding a bit of thickening at the end. Oh and I add some hot peppers too. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Love this marinade. I cook this in the crock pot and pour the meat and sauce over a bed of white rice. It is delicious! The only thing different I do is add a tablespoon of sambal for a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States