Beef Bulgogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I thought my husband was going to lick the plate. This was my first stab at bulgoi, and this was delicious! I marinated overnight. I have a deli meat slicer and sliced at #1. This gave the meat a very thin, even slice. You want a hot grill, but do have to be careful not to burn the beef. I have a hot spot on my grill that got some of the meat a little too crispy. Our family can usually eat no more than 1 pound of meat at dinner. I made 2 pounds so we would have leftovers. Guess what? No leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Although it was highly reminiscent of a Korean BBQ restaurant; I even smelled just like when I leave Honey Pig, I used Braggs amino instead of soy sauce so maybe that's why it came out a bit salty. Also, I added pineapple and onion; some recipes called for Asian pear but I could not find it. This made the cuts I was using super tender! About 1/4 cup of pineapple and 1/4 of onion per lb. Overall it was a yummy change in our usual dinner routine. We ate our as bulgogi tacos with probiotic kimchi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
The whole family loved this! used brown sugar instead of white, and didn't have sesame seeds but it turned out perfect! Served with white rice and kimchi. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This was amazing! We didn't even grill it and it still tasted great. We cooked it in the cast iron on high heat to quickly char it. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Oh my gosh! This is delish! Boy, am I glad I found this recipe! My husband was eating it as he was slicing it and I had to stop him before it was all gone. He was even licking the knife! I marinated it whole, grilled, let rest for 5 minutes then sliced. We thought it would be easier to grill in one piece. We served it with basmati rice and kimchee that I found at our publix. My publix also sliced the flank steak thinner for me so it was fall apart tender. I marinated it for about 8 hours, but next time I will prepare better and do overnight. I cannot imagine it having any better flavor, but never hurts to try. Thanks so much for the recipe - we will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenjem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This recipe was simple and fantastic! First thing I did was half-freeze or partial-freeze my flank steak so that it was firm but not frozen solid. That makes it super easy to slice thinly and I got nice thin slices. I marinated overnight (honestly it was 24 hours, because I prepped it the night before, but couldn't cook it until dinner the next night, you know?). I did not cook it on a grill, I used a nonstick pan on med-high heat stirring often. Then my 4-year-old and I ate them in "lettuce cups" using big pieces of butter lettuce, and they were so amazingly delicious. I can imagine, though, you could add rice noodles, sliced green onions, siracha, or any other elements to make it a little fancier. But this food is fine on it's own. This recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I can't quit making this recipe. I have cooked over 20 lbs of flank steak for friends and family. I let it marinate for 18 - 24 hrs before grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
My whole family went back for seconds, even the picky eaters!!! Oh happy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Miller
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
To spice it up even more, I add a couple of tablespoons of sambol sauce to the recipe. I love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I'd never made Bulgogi before. I served it to my partner without telling him what I had made. He took one bite and said, Bulgogi! He even gave me a fist bump for it because he said it was that good. Trust me that's a compliment because his ex wife is Korean. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Simple Slow-Cooked Korean Beef Soft Tacos

Not your average taco. This beef taco filling is seasoned with Korean-inspired fl

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States