Beef Brisket with Mushrooms and Pearl Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I used normal onions instead of pearl. Just didnt care for the taste of the meat. Way to Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This brisket is so great! I cooked it in an oven bag at 300F for four hours. Throw some potatoes in with the onions. Weird ingredients, but super results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Family loved the recipe. The only snag was my very sweet & overzealous butcher did a fantastic job of trimming the fat from my brisket. So my suggestion is if you have very little fat on your brisket cut the cooking time by a half hour (the fat keeps the meet moist).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I just made this fabulous brisket for our Christmas dinner. Doubled the recipe (for 10 adults and 2 kids) and there was almost no beef left afterwards! Everyone raved about the wonderful flavor AND as I cooked it the day before (in an oven bag), then cooled & sliced it , and refrigerated the sauce, it was VERY easy that day. I just sauteed the mushrooms and onions together on Christmas morning. Then removed and discarded the fat from the top of the refrigerated sauce and added most of it to the mushroom mixture and poured the rest of it over the brisket in a huge skillet to warm on the stove, as my ovens were full. It held well. I served the mushroom and onion sauce on the side next to the beef on the buffet table. Will definitely make this again soon. It was SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
So good! I, too, didn't use the taragon or pearl onions. Threw the brisket in the oven with the sauce and foiled it up and ran some errands. Came home to the best smell. Brisket was so tender and the sauce is great. It was even better as leftovers when I reduced the sauce and poured it over the mashed potatoes. Yum. My favorite part is telling people what is in it! So weird! I'm trying it now on country pork ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Barely followed the recipe except for the basic tastemakers here (jelly + onion soup mix), wasn't afraid of this recipe because my mother has a meatball recipe very similar that is the best thing you ever put in your mouth. It was better than I could have expected, thank you for posting this smuckers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I was looking for a five star recipe, and can see why this is it! We loved the flavors. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mavis Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I put all the ingredients for the meat and sauce in the crockpot on low for 8 hours and it came nice and tender. As previous reviewers' suggested, I served the sauteed mushrooms and onions as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Super easy to make and tastes so good! Very tender meat, as if slow roasted for long time instead of just 3 hours. It's a requested item in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I've made this with brisket and london broil, and I'm going to try it with chuck roast. It's so easy and delicious! Seriously everyone I've served it to loved it. It's wonderful for bbq sandwiches, which my daughter specifically requested for July 4! With the chuck roast I may end up shredding the beef instead of slicing it - we'll see how the consistency turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States