Beef Brisket with Chipotle Tomatillo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
SUPER SPICY! My kids could not eat it. I tried to add several tablespoons of brown sugar to cut the spice, it didn't work. My husband and I loved it! We ate it with fried corn tortillas, guacamole and cheese. I served it with Chi Chi's corn mush/casserole - it was the perfect compliment of sweet to go with the spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious, but yes, it was spicy. Thanks for the warning! I used half of the can of chipotles and it was still a little spicy but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This dish is fantastic. Very spicy, easy to make, the pressure cooker makes the brisket super-tender. A family pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Mayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Derwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I thought ( and so did my hubby and his friend, who are both foodies) that this was great!! I used a chuck roast instead of a brisket because it was on sale, and I cooked it in my crock pot. I did sautee the onions and garlic first, and seasoned and seared the meat as well before putting it in my crockpot on top of a layer of thick sliced potatoes and onions (you can remove them later if you want, but we kept it in the with shredded meat and it was awesome). I blended all of the ingredients following the recipe exactly except that i used 2 cans of tomatillo sauce instead of whole tomatillos and also i used dos equis amber to replace the water ( you could also use beef broth too, which I did add a bit of as well). Cooked for 5-6 hours. We made home made corn tortillas and black beans and rice. Finished off the rest of the Dos Equis...Awesome dinner!!! I will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I've made this with brisket and with pork tenderloin, and I prefer it with pork. I don't own a pressure cooker so I make it in the crockpot - turns out great. One can of chipotle peppers is really really spicy, so I use about half - still a little too much for me but Husband loves it. (he says the leftovers are even better the next day) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have a new pressure cooker and was looking for a fun recipe to try - and this was it! I couldn't find canned tomatillos at my grocer so we bought a pound of regular tomatillos - and that worked fine! Also, my pressure cooker isn't the type that goes on the stove, it is a stand alone unit and it didn't have a "medium" pressure setting - so I just cooked it on high for an hour instead and it was perfect! The chipotle spice was perfect for my husband and I - but if I cooked this for the kids I would need to cut WAY back :) - I will make this recipe again for sure. This would probably work with any large cut of meat - though the brisket was a great way to go. VERY minimal prep and the pressure cooker does the work for you. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
We just got an electric pressure cooker so I tried this recipe. The only change I had to make was to use fresh tomatillos since I couldn't find canned (I softened them up in a skillet then followed the recipe). The brisket turned out tender, tasty and fast. Don't be afraid to use the entire can of chipotle peppers since the heat cooks out quite a bit. Excellent recipe but I think I'll keep making it with fresh tomatillos as they seemed to add a good tang to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
No brisker available so we used top round and a pressure cooler. Just phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is my third time to make it and my family loves it each time!! I had to cut back the chipotle for my kids, and i take some of the cooked sauce and use it to make quinoa with it as a side dish. Family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This was freaking amazing! I heeded advice if others and used half the chipotles, and had to use fresh tomatillos. But i did use my pressure cooker for the first time and it was amazing. After i made it, my bf raved about it and them told me he has always hated brisket before. Guess he just never had one cooked properly before haha. We've eaten it for dinner three nights in a row . I planned on making freezer tacos with the leftovers but that didn't work out as planned. Haha. Super yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States