Beef Brisket My Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This brisket is packed with flavor. I made it in the crock pot, layering all the veggies and spices on bottom, placing the brisket on top of them, pouring the marinade over it all, and cooked on high for seven hours. I used 2/3 cup sweet red wine, regular vinegar, and 6 oz. tomato paste since that's what I had, and it was fine. If you want something elegant, this isn't it, but for a good, hearty supper, this hits the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was good and we enjoyed it. It is certainly easy to do and has a nice flavor to it without it being bbq. I followed the recipe to a t except used a different red wine that I had opened. The meat stayed moist and flavorful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was pretty good but certainly not five stars. If I made it again, I probably wouldn't make it the same way. I cooked it in the oven for four hours - used a 4 pound brisket but it did not come out fork tender. I used fresh rosemary, extra carrots and I added some liquid smoke, I also thickened the juices to make a gravy. The carrots were delicious but the meat a little too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Disappointing! I cooked the brisket in the crock pot, minus the carrots and celery. The meat was dry and the sauce awful. Would not make it again. The meat was salvaged by making sandwiches with Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. Dumped the rest of the sauce! It even smelled odd when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I don't know what I did but I really did not like this. The meat was ok but I disliked the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
First time I ever cooked a brisket. It was delicious! It tasted a little sweet, it must have been because of the balsamic vinegar (from Modena, the best!). This recipe deserves 5 stars! I used fresh spices and Cannonau wine (from Sardinia). I chose to cook it in the crock pot. When the meat was done, I removed it and thickened the sauce with a couple tablespoons of flour and cook it for 10-15 min more. I then poured the sauce on top of the meat and ate it with a a baguette fresh out of the oven! Awesome! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cagliari, Sardegna, Italy
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I found the marinade and sauce had too much of a tomato taste but this is after years of my mother making dried up brisket with too much tomato sauce. I would tone down the balsamic and try adding some molasses or brown sugar as well. Very tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A knock-out! My family gobbled this up like there was no tomorrow, and they're not big beef eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Great new recipe...however I thought the balsamic came through a little too strong but my hubby, who hates vinegar of all types, loved it. Very tender and sliced beautifully. Will definitely make again, with a reduction in the balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
It worked great--I skipped marinating it and just tossed all the ingredients into a slow cooker for 6 hours on high (or even 7). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States