Beef Bourguignonne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I followed this recipe closely. I skipped the mushrooms, didn't have, and used four raw carrots sliced. I did have to add corn starch to thicken the sauce. We thought this was very tasty and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I thought this recipe was very good. I followed the recipe except I put the ingredients in the crock pot after cooking (at the point the recipe said to turn the heat to low). I cooked in the crock pot for the afternoon (3 hours). Family loved it ... definitely will add to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe was flavorless. After all the work and the wonderful smells it did create, the end result was disappointing. My family was surprised that it lacked taste since it smelled aromatic. Unsure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
The recipe was very tasty. Even with covering the lid, I found the carrots weren't tender enough and would probably recommend cooking it a bit longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Delicious. I used port wine instead of red wine and added paprika to counter the sweetness of the port. But nevertheless, the dish was absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This is a very tasty and easy recipe. I doubled it to make a little more sauce and served it with garlic mashed potatoes. The kids and hubby all eat it all up! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I used a cheap cut of meat (beef stew meat) so I knew I had to simmer it a little longer than usual. For browning, I added a little butter in with the EVOO. I used a full small onion and I used baby bella mushrooms. After I'd added all the veggies and the liquids, I brought it up to a boil, covered it, and cooked it on low for a little over an hour. Before serving, I sprinkled more parsley over the top. We had this over hot buttered egg noodles with garlic lemon butter green beans on the side. This is a lot like a stroganoff without the sour cream. The kids didn't care for it but I thought it was very good. Using the stew meat didn't affect the flavor or compromise the dish at all. NOTE: I used Campbell's beef broth because that was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
My husband and I loved this. I just added a little cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it a bit. Make sure you don't overcook the orzo though, the thicker sauce will make the orzo seem a little slimey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very disappointed, tasted bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I thought it just tasted like stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States