Beef Bourguignonne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I have to say, I was impressed with this recipe. I was a bit sceptical after reading some of the reviews, but the dish really turned out well. This is basically a 30-minute beef stew, so you get a nice hearty meal without the slow-cooker. I followed the recipe exactly, using fat-free, low-sodium broth and portabella mushrooms. After reading some of the reviews saying that this recipe was bland and after tasting the sauce, I added a little salt and pepper to wake things up a bit. Other than that, I added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce to my liking and served over Orzo pasta. Don't let the bland reviews scare you away from this one, as it really doesn't need much to make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I made this with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans and crusty Italian bread. Hubby who NEVER eats leftovers actually requested this the next day! I also used frozen sliced mushrooms since I didn't have any fresh and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Yummy and easy! I served it over couscous. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made Julia Child's recipe a few months ago which was excellent. It took all afternoon. I made this in an hour and it was really really good. I cooked it longer than the 30 minutes - maybe 45 minutes - because the sauce had not thickened in the 30 minutes called for. I didn't serve it with orzo and instead served it with fettucini alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Bruce Isselhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Simple. Easy. Delicious. And made the entire house smell SO GOOD! We too had it on Penne... only because that is what we had in the house. I anticipate the leftovers will be delicious as well. I'm sure everyone at work tomorrow will be jealous. I served this with a tossed salad and garlic cheese toast. Oh, and the rest of the bottle of wine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
The wife and family went nuts for it. Added some hot sauce and cayenne pepper to taste just because we like things a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Really wonderful flavor! I used herbs de provence and lots of minced garlic. We really enjoyed the crimini mushrooms in the sauce. The beef sirloin strips came out so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
very delicious! Great for Guests! I added 6 pepper blend spices to the flour to heat it up. Served with smashed sweet potato with honey,butter, and salt /pepper and green beans. Sourdough bread toasted on the side also. Everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
My husband and I loved this. I just added a little cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it a bit. Make sure you don't overcook the orzo though, the thicker sauce will make the orzo seem a little slimey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States