Beef Bourguignonne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I used a cheap cut of meat (beef stew meat) so I knew I had to simmer it a little longer than usual. For browning, I added a little butter in with the EVOO. I used a full small onion and I used baby bella mushrooms. After I'd added all the veggies and the liquids, I brought it up to a boil, covered it, and cooked it on low for a little over an hour. Before serving, I sprinkled more parsley over the top. We had this over hot buttered egg noodles with garlic lemon butter green beans on the side. This is a lot like a stroganoff without the sour cream. The kids didn't care for it but I thought it was very good. Using the stew meat didn't affect the flavor or compromise the dish at all. NOTE: I used Campbell's beef broth because that was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made Julia Child's recipe a few months ago which was excellent. It took all afternoon. I made this in an hour and it was really really good. I cooked it longer than the 30 minutes - maybe 45 minutes - because the sauce had not thickened in the 30 minutes called for. I didn't serve it with orzo and instead served it with fettucini alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Bruce Isselhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I have to say, I was impressed with this recipe. I was a bit sceptical after reading some of the reviews, but the dish really turned out well. This is basically a 30-minute beef stew, so you get a nice hearty meal without the slow-cooker. I followed the recipe exactly, using fat-free, low-sodium broth and portabella mushrooms. After reading some of the reviews saying that this recipe was bland and after tasting the sauce, I added a little salt and pepper to wake things up a bit. Other than that, I added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce to my liking and served over Orzo pasta. Don't let the bland reviews scare you away from this one, as it really doesn't need much to make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I made this with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans and crusty Italian bread. Hubby who NEVER eats leftovers actually requested this the next day! I also used frozen sliced mushrooms since I didn't have any fresh and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
this was yummy! I used a whole onion instead of just two tablespoons, and added two chopped stalks of celery. Also used sliced big carrots instead of baby carrots, and served with boiled new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Yummy and easy! I served it over couscous. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I don't think this cut of meat can get tender enough to suit me within this cooking time. That is my reason for 4 starts. I also added some 7 pepper blend to spice it up to suit my husband's taste. Originally, I thought the sauce was a tad bland. It is a good recipe and a great starting point to play with different seasonings and flavors. I served it over orzo pasta. Thanks for the recipe and I would make this again, but with definite changes to the seasoning blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very disappointed, tasted bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
due to the other comments, i used 1 cup of broth and a tad more than 1/4 cup of wine. it was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by airkiss23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
It took quite a long time to cook down, and still tasted a bit "eh." Overall not bad, but not amazing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States