Beef Bourguignon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I have successfully done this recipe many times. The meat needs to be marinated and then simmered very slowly to make it tender - cubes from the surloin are to be preferred to those of the round as the latter are less tender. When cooked slowly, the meat can be cut with a fork. Towards the end, I strain the content of the pot and thicken the gravy in a saucepan with melted butter and flour (very slightly or else the gravy will thicken too much after further simmering) and then pour it back into the pot and let it cook at low heat a bit more. Also, to make the dish less fat, I slightly cook the bacon separately before adding it to step 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Wonderful flavor. I added more wine, fresh garlic with the onions and beef broth to make a sauce and served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I did combine the bacon, pearl onion and mushroom and let everything simmer for 3 hours. I also added a tbsp more because I found it too runny. It is delicious over some egg yoke pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garth Templeman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I changed too much of the recipe to rate it a 5: I kept the beef, wine, broth, browned the beef in the pressure cooker and added regular onion and Costco pesto sauce, added sweet potato and cauliflower (cleaning out the fridge!) and oil instead of butter. I threw all the ingredients together and finished it in the pressure cooker and it turned out amazing. What great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathrynG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I haven't made beef bourguignon in years and this was absolutely delicious ! Made exactly as stated! ( but I hated peeling all those pearl onions) it was worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this meal last night for a dinner party we hosted and we really enjoyed it. It smelled fantastic and cooked up beautifully. I omitted the bacon after reading some of the other reviews. I added carrots and celery to it. I like a rich creamy sauce so I added a half of a pint of heavy whipping cream. I served it over egg noodles and accompanied it with green beans. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I used an entire bottle of red wine. You need to use a cabernet b/c other reds aren't "strong" enough in flavor to hold up in this recipe. So I wouldn't recommend a Pinot or a Merlot. Go for a nice California Cabernet. I marinated the beef Overnight. In addition to the parsley,thyme and bay leaf, I added fresh rosemary to the bouquet garni. I also marinated onions,celery and carrots with the beef overnight. I separated the beef and cooked that first. Browned real well. While the beef was browning I reduced the wine marinade in a separate pot. You need to reduce the wine in a separate pot so that it doesn't make the dish bitter. Added the vegetables and the reduced wine and cooked on the stove for about 40 minutes. Came out very tender and it was delicious. I left out the bacon b/c there is enough flavor in this dish that you Do Not need to add additional fat to it. Omitted the mushrooms b/c I didn't have any. Also, I used low sodium beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I've made this recipe a few times and each time it gets better. I omit the small onions as my husband detests them, but pretty much keep everything else the same. Also, I use a top cut sirloin and cut it up which is often more tender than stew beef from the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I agree, it was a heavenly smell while cooking. However, my results were not as great as hoped. I bought a rump roast, marinated and cooked it as the recipe dictates, but the meat was tough. The wine/mushroom gravy was awesome. I'd try again if someone has a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong but it came out very disappointing. The meat while flavorful was not tender. And as far as the gravy... there wasn't nearly enough. I thought Beef Bourguignon was supposed to be a stew but in the end, I had to add quite a bit more beef broth just to have a bit of gravy to serve it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States