Beef Bourguignon II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is my go you to recipe. The only change I made was to add more carrots because the flavors are melded together at the end. So scrumptious and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This could be a five star. I think. The flavor was there but the beef cubes were way over cooked. Tender......well yes ....but very dry! It smelled amazing cooking. The flavor was there but it wasn't a "WOW" flavor for me. My family liked it even after agreeing it was a little over cooked. I tried the recipe because I had half a bottle of wine leftover from making Chef John's Coq au vin (which I make all the time) and didn't want it to go to waste. I'm not sure if I will try this again but I'm giving it a 4 based on what it could be and that my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
REALLY good! I used 1 C of wine and 1 Can of broth as suggested. NO jarred onions. Added some fresh Rosemary and Parsley from my herb garden. Cooked at 225 covered in the oven for 3 hours. Then added fresh mushrooms and an additional 1/2 C of wine. Cooked uncovered for additional 30 minutes. Used top round as it was the least expensive cut of meat available.......sigh. Made with homemade French onion soup and French bread. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I did not think this was worth waiting 3 hours for! It may be the canned onions...I did not like the flavor of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
No, this is definitely not your average casserole. I made half of this recipe as there are just the two of us and used sirloin strip steaks as I wanted a better cut of meat to go with that expensive wine. As written it's a 4 but with the addition of an extra 1 1/2 cups of liquids it a solid 5. I cooked this at the recommended 350 for the first 1 1/2 hours then decreased the temp to 300 as it seemed to be drying out. I kept as close to the recipe as possible with the exception of using Earth Balance instead of butter, dietary restraints, and fresh cremini mushrooms instead of caned. I also added extra carrots as they needed to be used. When I took the cover off the dutch oven for the final 30 minutes it looked really dry so I added 1 cup of beef broth and an additional 1/2 cup of wine. This dish comes together really quickly but taste like you spent the day making it. Definitely company worthy and it will be going into my favourites file. I served this with a loaf of crusty rye bread to soak up the last dredges. Thanks Teri for the super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family enjoyed this dish, but I found it just so-so. I modified it and cooked it all in the crock pot. Nice for a winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was a big hit! I am making it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This was a delicious recipe! I used fresh mushrooms and small pearl onions at the end... but sauteed them a bit before adding. Also instead of the juice from the canned mushrooms, I added 1/2c. beef broth. It is a meal I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I will say that I altered it a bit due to ingredient availability and because I read over some other boeuf bourguinion recipes. In addition to the wine that was called for, I read several recipes that recommended that the liquid be 1/3 above the beef. Based on that, the wine wasn't enough alone, so I added a cup (or so) of water and another half cup of Pinot Noir. I also made do without pearl onions and fresh parsley, as I didn't have any. I added an extra bay leaf and reduced the thyme by a pinch. Due to the additional liquid, my cook time was extended by an extra half hour covered and an extra hour uncovered. The wine reduced beautifully and the meat is falling-apart-tender. The dish is delicious; hearty, aromatic, and classical! Next time, I won't concern myself with extra water, although I may use the extra half cup of wine. If I had the ingredients for a fresh herb bouquet, I would include that also. I'm very pleased with this recipe and highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States