Beef Bourguignon II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family enjoyed this dish, but I found it just so-so. I modified it and cooked it all in the crock pot. Nice for a winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was a big hit! I am making it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This was a delicious recipe! I used fresh mushrooms and small pearl onions at the end... but sauteed them a bit before adding. Also instead of the juice from the canned mushrooms, I added 1/2c. beef broth. It is a meal I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I will say that I altered it a bit due to ingredient availability and because I read over some other boeuf bourguinion recipes. In addition to the wine that was called for, I read several recipes that recommended that the liquid be 1/3 above the beef. Based on that, the wine wasn't enough alone, so I added a cup (or so) of water and another half cup of Pinot Noir. I also made do without pearl onions and fresh parsley, as I didn't have any. I added an extra bay leaf and reduced the thyme by a pinch. Due to the additional liquid, my cook time was extended by an extra half hour covered and an extra hour uncovered. The wine reduced beautifully and the meat is falling-apart-tender. The dish is delicious; hearty, aromatic, and classical! Next time, I won't concern myself with extra water, although I may use the extra half cup of wine. If I had the ingredients for a fresh herb bouquet, I would include that also. I'm very pleased with this recipe and highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this dish for dinner last evening, followed the recipe as directed, and it was delicious. The meat was tender and tasty, and the house smelled delicious as well! I will definitely use this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Canned onions and mushrooms? Really? Fresh is always better. Frozen pearl onions or fresh shallots are also excellent choices. "Stew meat" is usually cut too small to retain moisture. Use boneless chuck and cut into 1-1/4" pieces. They will shrink slightly. I agree red wine is essential to this dish. Be sure to use one you would drink with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Really great! Left out the canned onions and mushrooms 'cuz we don't like 'em. Used a good burgundy and added 8 oz fresh mushrooms sauteed in butter at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Appleseth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Knancy
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Terrific recipe! My only modification was swapping the canned mushrooms and onions for fresh. I added these at the beginning ans let it all stew. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knancy
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very yummy recipe. I doubled the carrots to give it more color. Served in bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverlodge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States