Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
This was a truly delicious recipe, I tried it for the first time on some friends at a casual dinner party, not a word was said throughout the feeding frenzy! This is a recipe you want to take your time on although i had wished that the marinade time had been better posted, i did not get the entire marinade time in. But all in all this was a delightful dinner. P.S. We served it in hollowed out baked potatos with the potato meat made into duchess potatos , done in florets around the baked potato shell and the crowns browned off under the broiler, a beautiful presentation for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I doubled this recipe and served it to about 10 people at a dinner party at my home. I must admit that I tried it for the first time the night I served it, but I was very lucky because it turned out so well and I got so many complements from everyone. I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised myself at how delicious it was. The only other time I have had this dish was in Nice, France and it almost tasted that good. Thanks again for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I made this yesterday morning and at the point in the recipe where you put it in the oven, I put it in a crockpot and forgot about it all day (I did stir it from time to time). It came out so yummy! I didn't use as many onions--one in the marinade and then I used shallots for the main dish. I served it with a hearty homemade French peasant bread and garlic mashed red potatos. I will definately make this again. Ps..don't skimp on the quality of the red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
I make this recipe everytime we have company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
We omitted the bacon and used portobello mushrooms in the last step. We needed additional butter for the mushrooms. If you use a good quality California Pinot Noir, you will have excellent results. We will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I'm an American living in New Zealand. We had a BBQ with lots of friends and leftover beef. I remembered thet I loved the beef bourguignon at a little french restaurant in Davis California. So did an internet search. Came up with this recipe and picked it over the other 2 because we had the ingredients on hand(lots of leftover red wine too). The beef here tends to be a bit tougher than the beef in the states. After 3 hrs cooking it was very tender and melt in your mouth - awesome. Very bummed that my wife took the leftovers to work with her (she leaves before me). It was excelent and the kids loved it too (including a very picky 6 year old). Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Good, cooked it as instructed, didn't add any water. Should have I guess. Great on buttered egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
An outstanding meal. I followed the recipe exactly, and scaled it to 12 because I caught a great sale on top grade meat, which I recommend you use. I also used a Pinot Noir (don't use supermarket wines. They're not glass worthy for a reason!). I froze all this food in meal-sized portions. When it was thawed and reheated, it was even more delicious! I'm ready for any holiday company that might call for an elegant meal. Served with creamy mashed potatoes, asparagus tips and french bread. Wow! Worth the effort. Thanks Judy. -- Update 11/2004 -- this is still the best recipe I've ever found here at allrecipes.com. Follow the tips - no shortcuts, and make a lot at once to freeze. Company coming? Thaw, reheat, make sides, and take the bows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
Worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
WOW! Was this worth the extra effort! I made this for my DH and I for a special meal after the kids were in bed, and it was divine! Melt in your mouth, savory, tendor, delicous! Leftovers didn't last more than a day. This would make a wonderful company meal as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States