Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I can always tell from reading other reviews if I am going to have success with a recipe or not. This time I was completely wrong. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was mediocre at best.I've been cooking for many years, and I've prepared dozens of recipes from this site. I don't think the poor results this time were due to something I did wrong. This is the first review I've given. I wanted to warn others that if you want to try this recipe, try it yourself before you serve it to guests. The results are a common beef stew, and not an elegant dinner party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
needed a little corn starch to thicken a little more. great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I made this for Christmas dinner this year because it was a small crowd and it was awesome. It is somewhat labor-intensive so next time I will definitely double the recipe and free half. I served it with mashed potatoes but I really like it over egg noodles so I think that's what I'll do next time. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I love complicated and involved recipes. It seems that the more time I spend making a dish, the more complex and interesting the taste, and the more my guests rave. Sadly, this rule of thumb did not apply here. I made this Christmas Day for 25 people (4x original recipe) and it about did us in. The marinating was quite easy, but the prep on the day it was being served was deceptively involved -- adding to the stress of the day. The fragrance while cooking was lovely.....but at the moment we had all been waiting for, when the meal was presented, the taste turned out to be only "average." Nothing special, not even memorable, just okay. I could have spent far less time cooking and far more time enjoying my guests with a less involved recipe, and had the taste of the meal come out the same. Like me, a lot of reviewers who made this recipe spent many hours and dirtied a houseful of dishes making it. I can only think that the reviews are so positive because once the investment of time and effort was made, they just couldn't bring themselves to giving it a review of "not memorable." The high ratings are probably more of an A for Effort than an A for Taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This recipe was awesome and received raves from all who ate it and was definitely in the top five meals that I've ever made. It was VERY time consuming, so don't make it unless you have half of a day to work on it, but definitely worth the effort. I flipped over the marinating dish every few hours for the 48 hour marinating period to make sure that all the beef was marinated equally. I upped the recipe so it would serve 12, though I think it would probably serve 10 since it's so good that everyone will want seconds. I cut back on the wine slightly and also cut back on the onions a bit. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. My guests offered to come over and take the leftovers off my hands and told me to invite them back the next time I make it! I served it with Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes and homemade pumpkin pie. It's the perfect dish for a chilly fall/winter Sunday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
It just kills me when people come to these review sites and complain how there just "has to be a quicker way" to prepare a dish such as THIS one. And then they almost make it sound like a personal mission that people took to rob them of their time if a recipe isn't to their liking. Perhaps a review should consider that GOOD food takes the love of cooking, and anything less WILL be evident "somewhere". And often times in classic french recipes such as this one, it DOES take time and if you "read and think" before you begin you can figure that out. My personal opinion on this recipe is that it is VERY classic and delicious. It was meant to be meaty and rich and not too spiced up...warm and comforting and classic...and it is! I serve mine over "smashed" garlic potatoes with the skins left on and a fruit parfait for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I made this as a special anniversary meal... much work but well worth it. The beef was incredibly tender, the sauce savoury and rich but not overwhelming. The mushrooms, carrots and bacon all poke through as delicious flavour notes that aren't overwhelmed by a heavy gravy. The only changes I made were to leave out the cognac, and I only marinated 24 hours. I will make this again, though for special occasions - 30 minute prep time is pretty optimistic: I'd double that number.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Okay, I spent about 4.5 hours prepping and making this dish, not to mention almost a whole bottle of good wine.....Very bland... A HUGE PAIN TO MAKE! Followed recipe to the "T" and can't understand what the other reviewers are comparing this dish to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This was, hands down, the single best dish to ever come out of my kitchen. I've tried a few other beef bourguignon recipes, but none of them were as good as this one was. The only changes I made were to omit the brandy and carrots (didn't have them) and use 2 large Vidalia onions instead of four medium onions. In addition, I didn't find this recipe until yesterday, so the marinading time was only about 24 hours. Next time, I'm going to let it sit for the full two days, for sure. The beef was perfectly tender and the gravy had a fantastically rich and complex flavor and perfect thickness. I served this with Yukon Gold mashed potatoes and a salad. This recipe is worth every moment of time it takes! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Yum! I followed it exactly except for the bacon and flour steps. The meat came out extremely tender and the flavour was very good over some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States