Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
After reading some of the negative reviews, I was a little torn about trying this dish given the time involved. I must say I am so glad I decided to try. It has great flavor and is absolutely delicious. The only thing I can say to the negative reviewer is that a recipe is only as good as the quality of the ingredients. I can only guess that perhaps they did not use a good quality wine or a good cut of meat. With quality ingredients, you cannot go wrong with this recipe! I would also recommend that you not take shortcuts. I ended up having to marinade the meat for 3 days and I think the flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Sorry. Just didn't care for this at all. I tried to follow the directions exactly, but how do you saute the vegetables in 2T oil, and, after removing them, have enough fat in the bottom of the pan to incorporate 3T flour? What a mess. The sliced, marinated onions were long and stringy. I didn't get the total inclusion of FOUR onions: two sliced and two chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Wow...this was fantastic! Impressive. Will make again definitely. Who ever says it tasted like beef stew and/or it took too long to prepare must not like to cook much or did something wrong! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
It's very fun to make this recipe. The best part is the taste and texture of the meat, which turns out to be very moist and tangy after 2 days. The wine is a dominant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I was only able to marinate this for about 12 hours and used the crock pot to cook this all day. It was delicious and well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
A warm, delicious meal for a cold Sunday! Continuously added beef broth instead of the water. Served with mashed potatoes and steam asparagus! Excellent - need Top 5 item added to my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This one is worth all the steps. Everyone who's ever eaten this dish at my house has raved for weeks afterwards. I can't recommend it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MediaMer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
It was good, but not great. the only thing that I didn't care for was the carrots marinated. next time I will leave them out of the marinating process and add them in the frying process. It gave them a weird bitter flavor. Over all, I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I can always tell from reading other reviews if I am going to have success with a recipe or not. This time I was completely wrong. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was mediocre at best.I've been cooking for many years, and I've prepared dozens of recipes from this site. I don't think the poor results this time were due to something I did wrong. This is the first review I've given. I wanted to warn others that if you want to try this recipe, try it yourself before you serve it to guests. The results are a common beef stew, and not an elegant dinner party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
needed a little corn starch to thicken a little more. great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States