Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Wow...this was fantastic! Impressive. Will make again definitely. Who ever says it tasted like beef stew and/or it took too long to prepare must not like to cook much or did something wrong! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hvy.Mtl.Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
It's very fun to make this recipe. The best part is the taste and texture of the meat, which turns out to be very moist and tangy after 2 days. The wine is a dominant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I was only able to marinate this for about 12 hours and used the crock pot to cook this all day. It was delicious and well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
A warm, delicious meal for a cold Sunday! Continuously added beef broth instead of the water. Served with mashed potatoes and steam asparagus! Excellent - need Top 5 item added to my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This one is worth all the steps. Everyone who's ever eaten this dish at my house has raved for weeks afterwards. I can't recommend it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MediaMer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
It was good, but not great. the only thing that I didn't care for was the carrots marinated. next time I will leave them out of the marinating process and add them in the frying process. It gave them a weird bitter flavor. Over all, I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I can always tell from reading other reviews if I am going to have success with a recipe or not. This time I was completely wrong. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was mediocre at best.I've been cooking for many years, and I've prepared dozens of recipes from this site. I don't think the poor results this time were due to something I did wrong. This is the first review I've given. I wanted to warn others that if you want to try this recipe, try it yourself before you serve it to guests. The results are a common beef stew, and not an elegant dinner party dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
needed a little corn starch to thicken a little more. great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I made this for Christmas dinner this year because it was a small crowd and it was awesome. It is somewhat labor-intensive so next time I will definitely double the recipe and free half. I served it with mashed potatoes but I really like it over egg noodles so I think that's what I'll do next time. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I love complicated and involved recipes. It seems that the more time I spend making a dish, the more complex and interesting the taste, and the more my guests rave. Sadly, this rule of thumb did not apply here. I made this Christmas Day for 25 people (4x original recipe) and it about did us in. The marinating was quite easy, but the prep on the day it was being served was deceptively involved -- adding to the stress of the day. The fragrance while cooking was lovely.....but at the moment we had all been waiting for, when the meal was presented, the taste turned out to be only "average." Nothing special, not even memorable, just okay. I could have spent far less time cooking and far more time enjoying my guests with a less involved recipe, and had the taste of the meal come out the same. Like me, a lot of reviewers who made this recipe spent many hours and dirtied a houseful of dishes making it. I can only think that the reviews are so positive because once the investment of time and effort was made, they just couldn't bring themselves to giving it a review of "not memorable." The high ratings are probably more of an A for Effort than an A for Taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States