Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Tseen
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Wonderful recipe. HOWEVER, prep time was a little off. I spend quite a bit of time on this recipe, and wasn't prepared to. But, it doesn't take anything away from the taste. Yuuuuuuuuuummmmmmyyyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tseen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is one of the finer recipes on this site. It takes patience and dedication to prepare, but the results are simply outstanding. My dad grew up in France, and he used to make a version of this dish that was very good as well. I made this for him a month ago and he just loved it. I usually serve this with red potatoes (skins on) smashed with butter and fresh chopped parsley). Very good with the French bread rolls on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This recipe seems a little complicated at first glance, but believe me it is worth the time and effort. I love making this and have never had a bad word said by anyone I've cooked it for. Cheers for adding this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Despite some of the negative reviews of this recipe, I have nothing but good things to say. I made a few changes to the recipe, but thought it was specatcular. I had to make a bit of extra "gravy" (marinade) when I re-heated it after sitting for a couple of days in the fridge, but that was easy and it turned out marvelous. Some mentioned that you should use a "good" burgundy or Pino Grigio; I myself used the burgundy cooking wine I found at the grocery store. I substituted some sherry wine designed for cooking for the cognac, (both MUCH cheaper than the liquor store!) and I found the recipe one of the best I've had. Summary: marinade for 3 days, and rely on your local grocery store to provide the cooking wine(s) for you!! It is absolutely superb over homemade garlic mashed potatoes! I would serve it to God.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
UMMMM, UMMMM, UMMMM !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is a wonderful meal to serve for special occasions. It is time consuming, but your efforts will be rewarded by the many compliments you'll receive! I didn't use expensive wine and it turned out beautifully. I can't wait to make this one again. Just thinking about it makes my mouth water. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this yesterday for my future in-laws and they were very impressed! Everyone had seconds, except my future father-in-law, who had thirds! It was well worth the involved preparation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
After reading the Reviews and Making this recipe i would have to say that it is a great recipe what most people dont understand is that in classical french your gonna have an overwhelming flavor mainly in the sauce or in the marinade due to the fact that in classical times the french didnt have ascess to the most freshest of product thus in the case of this recipe a 2 day marination in a burgandy wine its not a hard recipe at all to make and if you are ever over in france i would strongly recomend that you order it there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
After reading some of the negative reviews, I was a little torn about trying this dish given the time involved. I must say I am so glad I decided to try. It has great flavor and is absolutely delicious. The only thing I can say to the negative reviewer is that a recipe is only as good as the quality of the ingredients. I can only guess that perhaps they did not use a good quality wine or a good cut of meat. With quality ingredients, you cannot go wrong with this recipe! I would also recommend that you not take shortcuts. I ended up having to marinade the meat for 3 days and I think the flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Sorry. Just didn't care for this at all. I tried to follow the directions exactly, but how do you saute the vegetables in 2T oil, and, after removing them, have enough fat in the bottom of the pan to incorporate 3T flour? What a mess. The sliced, marinated onions were long and stringy. I didn't get the total inclusion of FOUR onions: two sliced and two chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States