Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars because my husband said it was "the best" beef bourguignon he's ever eaten. I served it with rice the first night and mashed potatoes the second and happened to have on hand the tail of a beef tenderloin so the meat was very, very tender and tasty. One note about the recipe, it was a bit confusing as to which ingredients and amounts were for the marinade, and which were for the remainder of the recipe; it made things a bit hectic in the final round of preparation. That being said I will definitely make this recipe again ...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
excellent and easy..........always turns out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Vankleek Hill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
The recipe was a little complicated, but it was worth every moment that I spent preparing it! This was my favorite dish as a little girl and it tasted just like moms and we all know that (most) mom is the best cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bell Iosbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is a great recipe for Beef Bourguignon. I have made it over three times and never had a problem. It does take time to make and shortcuts are not recommended. It is rich but this comfort food to the max. Some potatoes or noodles is good for it or a couple of loaves of good French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard Lumsden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This recipe didn't turn out as I had expected. It was good, but not "fantastic" as I was expecting especially given how long it took to prepare and cook. The meat was very tender and smelled great while it was cooking, but we weren't thrilled with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Absolutely fantastic. I had my family over and made this recipe, and served with garlic mashed potatoes (make sure to throw in sour cream to make them perfect) and steamed cauliflower. I marinated the beef for 3 days instead of the 2 specified in the recipe. I also doubled the recipe. Make sure to use a good wine! You can definitely taste the wine in the beef even after all the cooking. Lots of work to cook everything but absolutely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I recently made this recipe & we all thoroughly enjoyed it. A couple of reviewers mentioned that they had to add liquid. I cooked mine with the cover on for the first 1.5 hours, then removed the cover for the remaining 1.5 hours & it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. After I add the mushrooms and its just about finished I spoon single servings into a medium size ramekin (one per person ) and place flakey puff pastry over top and bake it for an additional 10-15 or until the pastry is golden. This is by far the best way to eat it, with a side of green salad. YUMMY! I have made this dish 5 times now. My boyfriend loves it and guests are always impressed. I always make about 10 servings and freeze the rest, then its a quick elegant dinner all you have to do is defrost it scoop it into a ramekin thaw more puff pastry shove it in the oven and serve it up. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
To the reviewer who asked where the brandy and bacon are - you should know that brandy and cognac are used interchangably in recipes and the bacon is clearly listed in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The long marinade and addition of bacon is different that other recipies I have tried and sounds delicious. This I will make as soon as I can - can't wait for company to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States