Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Absolutely incredible! The unique flavor of the marinade is worth the effort with this dish. I added fresh thyme and rosemary to marinade which was a recommendation from a chef that I know. Instead of the oven, I put this in my crockpot on low for several hours. Serve this with garlic mashed red potato, crusty bread and a salad with crumbled blue cheese and pears, and you will get raves all night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This beef bourguignon recipe was fantastic. My husband says it was better than the beef bourguignon we had in Paris 2 months ago. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've made this recipe twice for company and have received rave reviews. I used a decent quality Cabernet Sauvignon for the wine. I also cooked the stew in a crockpot, rather than in the oven. Both times there was more than enough sauce. I did not find this particularly work intensive for a company dish. And, I think it would do fine if prepared the day before planning to serve, if one wanted to avoid the same day prep. This recipe will become one of my standard company dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This recipe is sensational! Yes it takes time to prepare but it is so worth the effort. The only change I made was to add the mushrooms after the first hour of cooking and then I added 1 cup of chopped parsley in the last 30 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Wow. This one really meets all expectations and doesn't disappoint: flavour, tenderness, mmmmmm. It appeared a bit fussy at first, with the 2 day marinating, the searing, frying the bacon, onions and carrots separately, the roux, etc. But man, it's so worth it. A good wine helps too. This one is a keeper and will be trotted out to impress guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
OK so I served this at my birthday party, in the garden of the Louvre in Paris as the sun set on a summer night. The previous year, my Parisian friends had given me a gift certificate to a cooking school. They were so impressed by the bourguignon that they assumed I learned it from a professional chef. I told them I did to make them feel better. But in fact it was this beef bourguignon from allrecipes. Just so you get a sense how popular this was, I made 13 portions of this recipe and it was devoured by 8 people in 15 minutes and they were demanding more. BTW people are saying you need fancy wine but I didn't even use burgundy, rather a cheap table wine. It soured the marinade just a little but I was able to counter it by generously adding salted butter near the end, which also thickened the sauce to a comfortable texture. Eating this is PURE PLEASURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Just because I liked the movie Julie and Julia, I had to know what this tasted like. Really good and easier than I thought! Although my husbands initial reaction was that it tasted like beef stew without all the veggies, he ate it all up and complimented to no end, even the second day! I took lots of shortcuts but stuck to the same basic idea. I used Red Truck Red Wine, didn't have brandy, pearl onions instead of regular, and pepper instead of peppercorns. I used the cheapest meat package I could find (as usual) prechopped for beef stew, and baby carrots chopped. I only marinated 2 hrs, and cooked in the oven at 300 for 3.5 hrs. I checked on it at 2 hrs and was afraid the meat wasn't going to be spiced enough. But after the 3 hrs I added the sauteed mushrooms stirred it all up and tasted it....WOW! The flavor was rich! I'd even go as far as calling it fancy restaraunt quality. Served it over left over garlic mashed potatoes, and next day seconds served over egg noodles. Along side Green Peas Supreme and fresh french bread. And it was just as delicious next day! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
OMG! I had my doubts after reading some reviews. I thought that was a long time to marinate, put together and maybe not be as advertised. I toyed with the idea of using the reviewer advice to use the grocery store wine/sherry. Decided that if I was going to put forth the time, I should follow the reciped exactly the first time and then figure it out if you want to make changes from there. OMG! This was fantastic! Hands down, FANTASTIC! It was my husband, myself and our 21 year old daughter. Enough for husband's lunch tomorrow and a "teaser bowl" for me.... I will definately make this again and again. My only disappointment, 8 servings was not enough for 3 people! Will do as others suggested next time and double for freezer meals. NOTE: As reviewers stated, prep time was longer then 30 min. Try 1.5- 2 hours. I read previous reviews about this. I prepped in the am. I prepared the meats/veggies and put in a bowl with plastic wrap. Then did the marinade, deglased the pan, etc. Cooked the mushrooms and put everything in the refrig covered with plastic wrap. Then 3.5 hours prior to dinner time, I mixed the meat/veggies with the marinade and put in oven. Then added the mushrooms about the time I turned the timer off. Perfect timing! Great Receipe! Just ate the leftovers from last night. OMG, I think it taste better today then yesterday, and yesterday it was "SO GOOD"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Great taste. I actually used chicken because my family doesn't like beef, but it still tasted great. Marinated for just one day since it was chicken and cooked for just over an hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
That was a wonderful dish - the only difference is that I cooked the bacon first, using the rendered fat to brown the beef in - enjoyed with some wonderful wine with fabulous friends - what a crowd pleaser, on a chilly antipodean autumn evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States