Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Do yourself a favor and cook this very sexy meal, don't deviate from the instructions and you will most certainly be rewarded with a bouquet of satiny flavors, serve on a bed of the creamiest mashed potatoes with a side of the freshest asparagus with a bold glass of french wine and wait for the love cause it will be coming. Don't stray , stay on course and love your food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topfuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was my first time making this meal. My mom made it when I was living at home and I always loved it. It was quite a bit of work but very rewarding. I used minced garlic out of a jar instead of fresh garlic and I left the mushrooms out because my husband wont eat them. I thought I would not like it as much without the mushrooms but I didnt really notice. I served it over Fresh garlic mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sdunkley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. I didn't read the whole recipe and decided to double it without realizing how many steps there were. I should have cooked it for about 30 minutes less, it really thickened towards the end, especially after adding the mushrooms. Everyone agreed it was good but I have made similiar stews that were less work and just as good from this website. I'm glad I tried it and I have a few dinners frozen. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe does have A LOT of steps, and IS not just throwing a bunch of ingredients together...however, it is worth it, so be sure to plan ahead. For the marinade I skipped the brandy, simply b/c I did not have any. I doubt you would notice. I didn't use a lb. of bacon. I used a couple Tbsp of REAL bacon bits. Omitted mushrooms, simply b/c I am not a fan. I did add large chunks of carrots into the marinade and let them cook with the meat. The other change I made was, instead of placing in a 9X13 pan, it went into my 6 qt crock pot on low and I let it cook on low until beef was tender. (approx 5-6 hrs) Amazing. You may choose to thicken sauce if you like a thick gravy. It was fine for me without doing that. I thought it was even better the second day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
but time comsuming to fix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lake Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Very, very good. I am about to make it for a second time because my husband raves about it. I only used one onion (again, because of my husband, lol) but I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Much easier than I expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This recipe was awesome! The flavor was outstanding and so worth EVERY detail. I think I have a new favorite dish. My only side note I have is that I didn't have any oil left in the skillet after I sauteed the vegetables. So when I went to add the flour, it turned into a paste. I ended up throwing that out and then adding a couple of tablespoons of the bacon fat to the skillet and starting over with new flour. From there, everything was fine. I served it over noodles with a side salad and cooked corn. What a great meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Absolutely incredible! The unique flavor of the marinade is worth the effort with this dish. I added fresh thyme and rosemary to marinade which was a recommendation from a chef that I know. Instead of the oven, I put this in my crockpot on low for several hours. Serve this with garlic mashed red potato, crusty bread and a salad with crumbled blue cheese and pears, and you will get raves all night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This beef bourguignon recipe was fantastic. My husband says it was better than the beef bourguignon we had in Paris 2 months ago. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've made this recipe twice for company and have received rave reviews. I used a decent quality Cabernet Sauvignon for the wine. I also cooked the stew in a crockpot, rather than in the oven. Both times there was more than enough sauce. I did not find this particularly work intensive for a company dish. And, I think it would do fine if prepared the day before planning to serve, if one wanted to avoid the same day prep. This recipe will become one of my standard company dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States