Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I am always annoyed at the people who change the recipe around but I had to change it around a little because of time constraints. I did not marinate for 2 days (only for 4 hours), but to tell you the truth, I don't know how much this mattered because of the meat. I decided meat would make a huge difference and got a beautifully marbled chuck pot roast from Costco. I think the meat made a huge difference. I knew when I was cutting it that the fat would dissolve become like butter. I used a 10 dollar bottle of Pinot Noir. I cooked the bacon first with a little oil, and then cooked everything else in the bacon grease, because I love bacon. I think it goes well over boiled potatoes that can absorb the sauce. Egg noodles were too mushy for me. For me it was better the next day. I separated the sauce from everything, put it in the fridge, scraped off the fat, and mixed them back together. This could be done the day of cooking if you are willing to let the oils separate from the liquids. Maybe you could do this isn the freezer. The sauce was much thicker and what I was looking for after the fat/oil separation. I could cut the meat with a spoon. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I picked this recipe for my husband's birthday, and some of the negative reviews had me worried. But, I decided to go ahead and just follow the recipe anyway, and I am beyond glad I did. It was superbly delicious! An incredible meal, that I will definitely make again for a special occassion. It is definitely not your every day meal. It does take a long time and a lot of work, but the end result is well worth it. No shortcuts, and a decent Pinot Noir is a must. I served it over garlic parsnip potato puree. Again - spectacular. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Recipe is delicious, the house smelled amazing, and dinner guests loved it. I served with buttered egg noodles and a salad. A few things happened along the way - not intentional changes. 1) I forgot Brandy at the store - so I used what dry Sherry that I had on hand. 2) I guess I used 2 large onions at the outset, when I pulled the vegetables out of the marinade it looked like onion overload - so I didn't put chop up another two. If I had to do over again, maybe I'd add some frozen pearl onions. But with only 2 onions was still amazing... most of the onions reduced part of the sauce. 3) When I pulled the meat out of the marinade, I patted it dry - but when I placed in the oil, it was too moist to brown. It still cooked, but I don't think I got the sear that the recipe intended. If I had to do again, would pull out - pat dry and maybe let rest for a bit longer to dry. But again - this was so good! I took leftovers to work today for lunch and could barely wait to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAH243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Hands down the best recipie Ive tried to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reet Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I tried this with just a 24-hour marinade, and the wine overpowered the meat a little to my taste. I was looking for meat flavored with wine and got wine flavored with meat. I loved the process and used my deep cast iron skillet for prep and returned everything to it for the bake. The long cook time tenderized the meat perfectly, so I will try again with a shorter marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Fantastic, and classic! Adding the buttery mushrooms at the end really adds a nice touch and maintains their integrity, and the dish does freeze very well. I would imagine that the quality of the ingredients used really does matter as this dish really showcases the flavors of the beef and wine very prominently. I reheated it in ramekins with puff pastry on top like the other reviewer suggested and it was a very elegant meal, well worth the initial time investment because of how well it freezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelyking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I followed this recipe precisely as written and was not impressed with the final outcome. Very disappointed that after two days of waiting and 'the cost' the meal was a disappointment to me and friends. The meat was dry while being coated with sauce at all times. The flavor was nice but, also not terribly impressive. Like another reviewer mentioned, there are easier and better recipes to try on this site. Not trying to be negative, just being honest. My cooking level is expert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This is a traditional French recipe and is quite good. You can eliminate the brandy if you do not like its flavor and it will not alter the taste too much. It's a subtle additive. Instead of broth, I use stock for a richer flavor. This compliments the mirepoix (carrots, celery, onions) if you use celery and pearl onions instead just chopped onion. The beef is incredibly tender. Freshly ground pepper will also work instead of pepper corns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
After reading some of the reviews I wasn't expecting much flavor out of this dish. It did smell really good while it was cooking but when it came to actually trying a bite I was very pleasantly surprised that it had a very good flavor. Yes, it does take two days to marinate but that just adds to the experience. I like being able to say that I actually worked a little to make a dish that I enjoyed making and eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Beef Wellington

This elegant dinner party recipe is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States