Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This recipe is fantastic! It's definitely a terrific one to prepare for a cold day. Definitely serve this with either a loaf of french bread or mashed potatos. The amount of preparation/marination time was a little discouraging, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This recipe is FANTASTIC. Great for a crowd. However, it takes a long time to make, so I usually double the recipe and freeze a large portion of it. If you do this, learn from my mistakes: 1) don't double the onions! the four already in the recipe is plenty. But double everything else. 2) Use two big, deep frying pans to fry the meat in two batches, and then make the bacon and broth in one pan (steps 4 and 6) and saute the vegetables in the other pan (step 5). This is a big timesaver! We have fed up to 12 large, hungry adults by doubling this dish. It is very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This was well worth the time and effort. I only marinated the meat for 24 hours but it was still very flavourful. I didn't bother with cooking the mushrooms, just threw them in the baking dish as what's the point of adding the extra fat and another pot to wash up! Also added some thyme and garlic powder for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Planning a progressive dinner. This will be perfect. Someone suggested there were too many pans? I'm not sure if they kept cleaning up the same pan but I used the same one over and over and even put it in the oven. Very good. Guest worth for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Awesome! Fabulous! Worth the effort....PS it makes your house smell WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Sensational everytime. Worth the time and effort. My husband loves this one. I make it a couple of times a month now. Perfect with either mash potato or salad and french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Best Beef Bourguignon ever. So tasteful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
The gang said this was great. I don't eat red meat (nothing political) but I always taste and the sauce was yummy. Changes I made: Eliminated the tomato paste and the brandy. Added frozen pearl onions and a little gravy master and prepared a bouquet garni consisting of a bay leaf, thyme and peppercorns which I placed in cheesecloth and cooked in the stew. Also threw in my usual garlic and onion powders. Once done I topped each soup plate with a dollop of mashed potatos. The family raved Judy and I thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Delicious, but please correct the time allowed for preparation (and clean up of multiple pans). I expected a quick prep and spent all Saturday morning with this project. It takes 30 minutes just to prepare the meat & marinade. fortunately it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
WOW! Was this worth the extra effort! I made this for my DH and I for a special meal after the kids were in bed, and it was divine! Melt in your mouth, savory, tendor, delicous! Leftovers didn't last more than a day. This would make a wonderful company meal as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States