Beef Bourguignon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I made it per recipe, except I was out of tomato paste, so used pizza sauce lol! And used pearl onions, caramalize in the pot! I would omit the salt from the marinade (it dried out the meat a little) and add the salt during cooking. Apart from that it was DELICIOUS! ?? my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Thank you for this recipe! It was so delicious. The whole family loved it. I wouldn't change a thing, although I ended up using more than the prescribed amount of bacon without thinking. However, we all love bacon and i dont think it overpowered the marinade. And I'm with everyone else, don't try shortcuts with this dish. Totally worth the wait and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Sellers
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Really loved this and made it according to the original recipe, EXCEPT, we had really potent onions so only used the first set of sliced. This is such a layered dip that I thought, anything can go wrong. But we loved it on our first French-night cuisine bash. What a winner! Wasn't as wow'd with the leftovers as I think there is a butter, richness overload factor that happens. But, boy were we happy that night I agree that you should follow the recipe closely at first, as the complex layering is not to be messed with. But where I thought the recipe was leading us astray (onions were overpowering in the marinade), it was really perfect in the final analysis. We do theme nights every year, and even accommodating the massive time involved and the great Escargots a la Bourguignonne, Tartiflette potatoes, oven-roasted Asparagus and creme brûlée side dishes, we will have to do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sellers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is bang on its soooo good and authentic Euro French not Canadian throw an apple on it towards the last hour of cooking or baking (i start out on the the cook top and then put it in the oven to make it more tender) and tell nobody how you finished it when done take the apple off and throw it away just for an interesting fine dining finish. They will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Kondas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is my first time doing Boeuf Bourguignon, so I don't have much of a comparison. Overall, this recipe works well. First, this recipe suggest marinating all main ingredients before hands, while other recipes (including Julia Child) suggest saute first to brown the beef. I marinade overnight (instead of two days) and the aroma of the wine really saturate into the ingredients. But the downside of marinating before hands is that the beef does not brown well (even after padding dry), and will secrete lot of water when sautéed. Next time I will try saute first then add the wine while cooking. Second, I used an average bottle of Pinot Noir, since most recipe emphasis on the quality of the wine and mentioned Pinot Noir (as a cheaper substitute for a bottle of Burgundy). I don't know much about wine but Pinor Noir worked well. But I used much more than this recipe suggests: one whole bottle for four servings. Third, I suggest replacing the second half of onion by shallots, which will hold up better after cooking and gives a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
great outcome by following recipe. friends really enjoyed it. A lot of work and time required
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was a decent recipe - maybe a bit too much work for the depth of flavor but overall good. I think the reason that the reviews are all over the place is probably due to the different wines that everyone used. Since that wine contributed to the majority of the flavor, I would recommend getting a red wine that you enjoy - even if its not Burgundy. Also, about half way through the cooking time we needed to add more liquid so we added half water, half beef stock which might have changed the taste a bit. The meat was tender and we kind of layered it when we served it - rice at the bottom, then sauteed mushrooms, then the beef mixture. It was a good meal but I wish the flavor could have been more there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah.e.White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica P.
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Pretty good. I've been wanting to make this for a while although it takes a long to cook its pretty simple to doit, just be pacient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
So many complaints about this beautiful classic recipe. Of course it takes time (very obvious if you pay careful attention to the method) but if you enjoy classic French cooking it is worth it. This is actually a stew but a fancy one and this recipe one of the better. Thank you for reminding me to start making this again..............even better reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I'm a believer! I've always preached you shouldn't substitute, or use less than quality ingredients. This is a testament to that effect. My friends organized our own Diner en Blanc. To make it more authentic we agreed we should bring French inspired dishes. We had quiche, mussels in white wine broth, cordon bleu, and boeuf bourguignon, on top of other wonderful delectable dishes. I contributed the bourguignon. I was at first intimidated not just by the cost of all the ingredients, but by how laborious the process was. I had never made this French classic before but felt I could rise to the challenge. I also took the risk of preparing something I've never made for our premier Diner en Blanc. Foolish you say? I'd have to agree. But I took painstaking lengths to follow each direction in this recipe and I knew I was ok. I also used this opportunity to use my seldom used Le Creuset Dutch oven and casserole. I believe having these made a difference. The two day marinade actually worked out to be about 36 hours instead simply because I needed to get a move on the cooking. I also omitted the cognac because I don't drink it and couldn't justify buying it for the recipe. Plus the Julia Child recipe does not call for it. I had also doubled this recipe as there were going to be about 16 people attending. Apart from that everything went as planned. As soon as the casserole was in the oven I felt my shoulders relax some. About 20 minutes later I smelled this heavenly aroma coming fr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States