Beef, Bean and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
We really enjoyed this recipe. I added some additional spices and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
my husband and I really thought this stew was excellent. I took a sample to my daughter and she had the same reaction. thank you for all the good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I had really good luck with this recipe!I used more beef broth and less water. I threw a few sliced fresh mushrooms in and used a bagged shredded cabbage for ease. We liked it the first time and the leftovers were awesome. I did double the caraway...I like the flavor it makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnandRoyce Gore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Amazing! This was the first time I cooked with barley or made a stew and my whole family loved it!! I will most defintely make this again. Next time I would add some cayenne pepper and coriander to spice it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This recipe is very good! I was concerned that the stew beef would be tough, but it wasn't. About the only thing I would change is to add more stew beef to it. Otherwise It has an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This recipe is a keeper. Here are the modifications that I made: 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes and less water, closer to 1/2 cup of barley, a 19 ounce can of beans (I've used different kinds), 1/2 teaspoon of oregano, 1/2 basil, 1/2 rosemary and no caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Excellent flavor! I didn't have any caraway seeds but this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
fantastic dinner for those cold nights!! everything in the one pot, less washing up, less time to prepare - perfect for busy moms and dads!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
My family loved this! I did make a couple of minor changes. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes, including the juice. Instead of all that water, I used one can of water (from the tomatoes)and one box of 32oz beef broth, instead of the two 14 oz cans. I also used Canneli beans, as that is what I already had in the house. Oh' and I omitted the caraway seeds. I served this with some warm dark rye bread and real butter. YUMMY! My husband hates cabbage but he ate it in this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was great - a hit with the whole family on a cold winter night. I used dark turkey meat instead of beef and it was excellent. I also made a few changes. I used two cups of diced tomatoes, and a half a cup of barley, both of which added to the stew a lot. I also ommited the caraway seeds. If you want a really hearty stew, cook it at least an hour. Thanks, Brandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States