Beef, Bean and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
We really enjoyed this recipe. I added some additional spices and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
my husband and I really thought this stew was excellent. I took a sample to my daughter and she had the same reaction. thank you for all the good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I had really good luck with this recipe!I used more beef broth and less water. I threw a few sliced fresh mushrooms in and used a bagged shredded cabbage for ease. We liked it the first time and the leftovers were awesome. I did double the caraway...I like the flavor it makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Amazing! This was the first time I cooked with barley or made a stew and my whole family loved it!! I will most defintely make this again. Next time I would add some cayenne pepper and coriander to spice it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This recipe is very good! I was concerned that the stew beef would be tough, but it wasn't. About the only thing I would change is to add more stew beef to it. Otherwise It has an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
My family loved this! I did make a couple of minor changes. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes, including the juice. Instead of all that water, I used one can of water (from the tomatoes)and one box of 32oz beef broth, instead of the two 14 oz cans. I also used Canneli beans, as that is what I already had in the house. Oh' and I omitted the caraway seeds. I served this with some warm dark rye bread and real butter. YUMMY! My husband hates cabbage but he ate it in this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Excellent flavor! I didn't have any caraway seeds but this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
fantastic dinner for those cold nights!! everything in the one pot, less washing up, less time to prepare - perfect for busy moms and dads!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This recipe is a keeper. Here are the modifications that I made: 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes and less water, closer to 1/2 cup of barley, a 19 ounce can of beans (I've used different kinds), 1/2 teaspoon of oregano, 1/2 basil, 1/2 rosemary and no caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was great - a hit with the whole family on a cold winter night. I used dark turkey meat instead of beef and it was excellent. I also made a few changes. I used two cups of diced tomatoes, and a half a cup of barley, both of which added to the stew a lot. I also ommited the caraway seeds. If you want a really hearty stew, cook it at least an hour. Thanks, Brandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States