Beef, Bean and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Needed more salt, spices, barley. It was an O.K. recipe, but nothing memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This recipe is very good! I was concerned that the stew beef would be tough, but it wasn't. About the only thing I would change is to add more stew beef to it. Otherwise It has an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I had really good luck with this recipe!I used more beef broth and less water. I threw a few sliced fresh mushrooms in and used a bagged shredded cabbage for ease. We liked it the first time and the leftovers were awesome. I did double the caraway...I like the flavor it makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Amazing! This was the first time I cooked with barley or made a stew and my whole family loved it!! I will most defintely make this again. Next time I would add some cayenne pepper and coriander to spice it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
my husband and I really thought this stew was excellent. I took a sample to my daughter and she had the same reaction. thank you for all the good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
My family loved this! I did make a couple of minor changes. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes, including the juice. Instead of all that water, I used one can of water (from the tomatoes)and one box of 32oz beef broth, instead of the two 14 oz cans. I also used Canneli beans, as that is what I already had in the house. Oh' and I omitted the caraway seeds. I served this with some warm dark rye bread and real butter. YUMMY! My husband hates cabbage but he ate it in this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Wow this was amazingly good. Really easy for one thing. We don't have Great Northern beans here in Australia as far as I know so did a search on them & since they are a white bean I figured cannelloni beans would do. So I did the soak them overnight method rather than use cans. (have the rest in the freezer) Anyway made the soup pretty much as is except no carraway seeds cos I didn't have any. Will find some for next time though. This is a hearty soup & tomorrows left overs should be better of course! Can't wait! :-) Oh & I didn't use a really cheap stewing meat either cos DH doesn't like meat so used some a bit better & it cooked up beautifully. A must recipe for winter! Will make again for sure. Oh & for the non meat eaters you can do it as easily without the meat in it & use vegetable stock instead. I think it would be as good. & save some money too! Put in a couple more potatoes & carrots & you'd be set with a great vegie meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
We really enjoyed this recipe. I added some additional spices and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This recipe is a keeper. Here are the modifications that I made: 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes and less water, closer to 1/2 cup of barley, a 19 ounce can of beans (I've used different kinds), 1/2 teaspoon of oregano, 1/2 basil, 1/2 rosemary and no caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
My eight year old didn't like this, but everyone else did. Substituted V8 for the tomatoes and some of the water. Also doubled up on the spices after reading the other reviews. I put it all in the crockpot and thickened it up at the end with a roux. Not a bad change from my regular stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States