Beef, Bean and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Needed more salt, spices, barley. It was an O.K. recipe, but nothing memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
We really enjoyed this recipe. I added some additional spices and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
my husband and I really thought this stew was excellent. I took a sample to my daughter and she had the same reaction. thank you for all the good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I prepared everything and dumped it into a crock pot for 1 1/2 hours. Great tasting broth. Do not know if I added to much cabbage - (didn't think so) but it stood out above all the other ingredients. Would I repeat the recipe? Maybe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I had really good luck with this recipe!I used more beef broth and less water. I threw a few sliced fresh mushrooms in and used a bagged shredded cabbage for ease. We liked it the first time and the leftovers were awesome. I did double the caraway...I like the flavor it makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnandRoyce Gore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
My eight year old didn't like this, but everyone else did. Substituted V8 for the tomatoes and some of the water. Also doubled up on the spices after reading the other reviews. I put it all in the crockpot and thickened it up at the end with a roux. Not a bad change from my regular stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Amazing! This was the first time I cooked with barley or made a stew and my whole family loved it!! I will most defintely make this again. Next time I would add some cayenne pepper and coriander to spice it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Very good flavor... the broth is heavenly! I think I'll include some frozen mixed vegetables next time I make it for a little more color and variety. Also more barley. But otherwise it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This stew was flavorful. I liked it the only thing is the meat did not come out very tender. Other than that a good stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This recipe is very good! I was concerned that the stew beef would be tough, but it wasn't. About the only thing I would change is to add more stew beef to it. Otherwise It has an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States