Beef, Bean and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Wow this was amazingly good. Really easy for one thing. We don't have Great Northern beans here in Australia as far as I know so did a search on them & since they are a white bean I figured cannelloni beans would do. So I did the soak them overnight method rather than use cans. (have the rest in the freezer) Anyway made the soup pretty much as is except no carraway seeds cos I didn't have any. Will find some for next time though. This is a hearty soup & tomorrows left overs should be better of course! Can't wait! :-) Oh & I didn't use a really cheap stewing meat either cos DH doesn't like meat so used some a bit better & it cooked up beautifully. A must recipe for winter! Will make again for sure. Oh & for the non meat eaters you can do it as easily without the meat in it & use vegetable stock instead. I think it would be as good. & save some money too! Put in a couple more potatoes & carrots & you'd be set with a great vegie meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
fantastic dinner for those cold nights!! everything in the one pot, less washing up, less time to prepare - perfect for busy moms and dads!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Excellent flavor! I didn't have any caraway seeds but this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This recipe is a keeper. Here are the modifications that I made: 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes and less water, closer to 1/2 cup of barley, a 19 ounce can of beans (I've used different kinds), 1/2 teaspoon of oregano, 1/2 basil, 1/2 rosemary and no caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I would have given it a much higher rating if it didn't have the caraway. It was too overpowering for my familiy's taste. I might try it again without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This was a very easy, very tasty recipe, though I'd call it a hearty soup rather than a stew. I made four significant substitutions, and it still worked out well. I'll definitely try the original another time. I didn't have stew beef on hand, so I used a well-trimmed pork tenderloin (cheaper here than beef). I used a can of butter beans instead of great northern beans, and I used 1/4 tsp whole cumin and 1/8 tsp cayanne pepper instead of the rosmary and caraway. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This recipe is very good! I was concerned that the stew beef would be tough, but it wasn't. About the only thing I would change is to add more stew beef to it. Otherwise It has an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This stew was flavorful. I liked it the only thing is the meat did not come out very tender. Other than that a good stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Very good flavor... the broth is heavenly! I think I'll include some frozen mixed vegetables next time I make it for a little more color and variety. Also more barley. But otherwise it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Amazing! This was the first time I cooked with barley or made a stew and my whole family loved it!! I will most defintely make this again. Next time I would add some cayenne pepper and coriander to spice it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States