Beef, Bean and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Just what I was looking for! Some changes of course; I used ground beef instead of cubed, since I already had some. I also tripled the barley and used pearl barley instead of quick cooking (whatever that is). And I used whole peeled tomatoes (still from a can). I expect it's not quite what everyone would do, but I love love looked it. Highly recommended and I suspect I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Rast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My husband and I really like this recipe. Only made a couple of changes. I didn't have caraway seeds and I used more stock than water. It was quite tasty regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Bliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was delicious with some minor changes. I doubled all of the spices except for the caraway seeds (kept those at 1/4 tsp) and omitted the salt. I didn't have any cabbage so I used celery instead. And I only had one can of beef broth, so I used chicken broth also. I used 1.5 cups of water and for the rest of the liquid I used chicken broth. With my changes I think it is five stars. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Very good, hearty cross between a soup and a stew. I added some more of the listed spices and salt as other reviewers suggested but left out the carraway seeds since I didn't have any on hand. I also added a can of Cannellini beans. The only big differences for me was after bringing the soup/stew to a boil, I had to let it simmer for twice the said time. My husband and I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Okay. Nothing exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAFEMME83
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Great concept..but very bland. I added extra spices and salt...but still just ok. I made it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAFEMME83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
It's a good recipe - especially when you are down to a couple of carrots and potatoes in the frige. I did add a lot more herbs than it called for. I left out the caraway seeds and used Italian sausage instead of beef which gave it more of a Mediterranean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
We loved this stew! It was just a little bland, so here are the changes I made: I doubled the spices (pepper, oregano, basil, rosemary, and caraway). I used a full cup of barley and added enough water to compensate. I used pre-shredded cabbage, about 2 c. packed. Then all I did was brown the beef and onion together, then tossed everything else in a (large) crockpot and cooked it on low all day. Super easy and turned out great! I also added a can of garbanzo beans just for fun. My husband and I both think that a can of sweet corn would be a great addition as well -- I'm adding that next time. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was great will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARONN
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very tasty recipe. I used a can of mixed beans instead of great northern beans, and couldn't find quick-cooking barley, so par-boiled pot barley before adding. Next time I would use 2 lbs. of meat. I cooked for about an hour and 20 minutes to get the meat nice and tender, and reduce the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States