Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
It comes out just as tasty if you put most of the ingredients in the pot (cubed meat, bay leaf, carrots, celery, onion, mixed veg's, beef buillon, stewed tomatoes, black pepper and water) and slow cook it for 10 hrs or so, then add the barley and salt during the last 20 minutes of cooking. MUCH simpler this way and saves time from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1098 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Great recipe! I used stew meat instead of the roast, and used 4 cups canned beef broth (ready- to-serve kind, not condensed kind) instead of the water and bouillon cube. Thanks to a previous reviewer's recommendation, I put all ingredients except barley and salt in crockpot and cooked it on low for 10 hrs., then added the barley and salt during the last 20 minutes. This greatly simplified the recipe! (I had hoped it might be done at 8 hrs., but the veggies were still slightly crunchy, so 10 hrs. is the right length.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
531 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Excellent and easy. I cooked 2 lbs. of chuck in crockpot for 5 hours the evening before I wanted to serve the soup. (Sprayed crockpot with Pam first.) After cooking, I smashed the beef into shreds (in the crockpot with a spoon.) Then, after sauteeing the vegetables, I put everything in the crockpot (including the uncooked pearl barley) and put the crock in the frig. I skipped the sugar, and used 2 extra cups of beef broth plus a couple generous dashes of Worcestershire Sauce. When I woke up the next day, I turned the crock on low and cooked the soup all day. Everyone loved it! I will make this again and again. After reading a few of the other reviews, I'm wondering if some of the reviewers who complained about mushy barley had inadvertently used instant barley in their soup. Whole pearl long-cooking barley holds up much better than instant barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
446 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This is a lovely recipe and here's an EASY way to do it. Buy a couple pounds of stew meat (I cut it up even smaller than the butcher does) and put it in the crockpot the night before and sprinkle some Montreal Steak seasoning on it. The next morning, put four cubes of beef bouillon, sugar, fresh garlic, crushed tomatoes (not stewed), bag of frozen mixed veggies and the four cups of water. (Will probably come to the top of the crockpot.) Cook on low for 10+ hours and in the last hour or so, add the barley. This is a mainstay at our house and even my 14 month old likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
As others have done, I put everything in a crock pot, double the barley, use beef broth instead of water and bullion, and add additional veggies (a package of frozen broccoli crowns, 2-3 potatoes, diced, and 2 cans of chopped green chiles). I also use stew meat, cut into bite-sized pieces and brown it with the onion, worcestershire and ground black pepper before adding to the crock pot. The barley doesn't go in until the last hour. Great recipe, a favorite at home and hunting camp. It is even better on the second and third day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
I followed another reviewer's advice and put everything in the slow cooker right from the start. I omitted the celery and carrots as the frozen mixed vegies were enough. I used a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes and doubled the broth. It was ready after 8 hours. An absolutely wonderful soup! My kitchen smelled great all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Margo, your recipe for beef barley soup was great! I added a bit more barley, and cubed some potatoes, and added basil and worchester sauce.The smell was awesome, and its full of veggies, which is good for the kids.Thanks for taking the time to post this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
This soup was good, with some modifications. There wasn't enough barley, too many vegetables. I recommend scaling the carrots and celery down. Also, like another reviewer, we added thyme, oregano, basil, and worsheshire sauce for some flavor. Also, I would have preferred diced tomatoes instead of stewed, they were hard to eat with a spoon. But with these slight changes, the soup was delicious and the beef was very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I'm on my 3rd time making this soup & we love it. The only difference is that I cut the meat before I cook it (I've used a roast & round steak), and added a can of beef broth while it cooks in the slow cooker. I just add all the veggies into the crock pot towards the end, a don't saute them, it tastes the same to me. I also add a packet of gravey mix. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Threw the all the ingredients in the crockpot except the barley from the start. Cooked for 12 hours on low and added barley for the last half hour on high. This was very good. Easy and hearty for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States