Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This recipe is great! I skipped the step of browning the beef because I often throw things in the crock pot right before I leave for work and who wants to brown meet at 7am? Still, the meat comes out nice and tender. I also added a cubed a potato and some extra water because I like my soup more brothy. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is very good! Like others, I used frozen stew meat (about 2.5 lbs) and put everything in the slow cooker except for the barley, which I added about an hour before serving. I used beef broth in lieu of the water and bullion. I would definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing the recipe, MARGOC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this recipe and took half the vegetables out of pot pureed and placed back into soup, nice thickener :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Herbst
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This soup is amazing! Super easy to make but tastes like you spent hours making! I would suggest only using 1/2 cup of barley. I'm defiantly making this for my husband to take when he goes hunting this fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Better yet, chuck all together and double the barley!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My advice is to watch the video. The recipe says to put the beef in your slow cooker with no mention of adding broth. The frozen mixed vegetables should complement what's already in the soup. I'do choose corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was very good but I did make a few changes. I omitted the bay leaf and I decided to take the lazy way out and just throw it all in at once and cook it all together rather than cook the meat first, thus omitting the oil as well. I have never had barley before so I wasn't sure what to expect but it was yummy. I used almost a cup instead half a cup which absorbed more of the broth than I would have liked it to so next time I will double the broth. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RICHARD
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a fun and easy recipe that came out tasting great, if you have never cooked with barley give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICHARD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Great stew recipe- Frozen steaks - cut up. Cooked on high - 5/6 hrs. Used 1/2 bag frozen vegetables, 1 tsp seasoned meat tenderizer, dried minced onion, dried garlic, splash of balsamic vinegar, no fresh veggies, all in crockpot except for barley - added last hour. Also added some nature's seasons, worcestershire and 1 12 oz. of Ebenezer ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
OVEN VERSION. I needed to make a huge amount because the men in my family eat like football players so even my largest crockpot would have only lasted a day... maybe...LOL.... So I made it in my large Magnalite Dutch oven. I put everything in at once except for the barley and salt, added lots of veggies, worcestershire sauce, baby Yukon potatoes and mushrooms, substituted the water for beef broth and covered it with two layers of foil and then put on the lid. Placed it in the oven on 200 degrees for 5 hours before I even took a peak. My house smelled marvelous! Overall I let it cook about 6 hours on low in the oven then added the barley and salt and retuned it to the oven for another hour. It turned out fabulous and hearty. The beef was super tender and flavorful. I think adding the Worcestershire sauce and beef broth really made a difference. My football eating men love it because it's chocked full of stuff.... My son said it's not wimpy soup but a full meal...maybe there'll be some left in the morning for work.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 745) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States