Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Great soup or stew. 5 star rating with these changes.Used 4 cups Beef broth instead of cubes . omitted frozen vegetables and added fresh sliced mushrooms , carrots and potatoes and used stewing beef instead of chuck. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I did this the crockpot way. I cooked the beef in beef broth for 5 hours on high (did not use water/bouillon cubes--just a lot of broth). Let the beef cool and shredded then sat the broth and beef into the frig overnight so I could skim the fat off the broth the next morning. Then I added everything else--cooked another 4 hours (adding the barley the last hour). It was my soup for crockpot Monday at work. I made a double batch---someone unplugged the crockpot because there was not one drop left! It is a fantastic soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
My family loves this soup especially my 2 year old. I use real tomatoes instead of canned that is the only difference otherwise its a really good soup. Thank u for sharing ur recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Hearty and healthy tasting. This made several meals. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Masinos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was a delicious stew. I cooked the chuck roast in the slow cooker for 8 hours on low, added quick barley and the bay and turned it to high while I prepped the rest of the ingredients (about 30 minutes). I used a 4c. carton of beef stock in lieu of the water and buillion cubes. For the frozen vegetables, I used a combination of corn and green beans. I shredded the beef with two forks into large chunks. I liked the flavor and texture of the meat and vegetables cooked separately and the larger chunks of beef made this hearty, while adding a lusciousness to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
used cut up potatoes instead of barley - simply outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammigrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spur, Texas, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great Soup!! I really enjoyed flavor of soup. I could not find beef bouillion at the store, so instead I replace with beef base powder and also used thinner meat to cook and it only took an hour to cook and boil in soup. Overall great recipe!! Thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Everyone who has tried this recipe simply RAVED about it! It is AMAZING!!! Must cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this soup for the first time today.I made it with a tenderized steak which i browned first then cut in up into small bite size peices, i threw everything else into the slowcooker, i used a carton of beef broth plus 2 cans of consume, i put a little over 1/2 cup of pearl barley in 2 hours before it was done, i only had half a bag of frozen veggies left and i threw them in that was plenty enough, And for the taste it was wonderful!! I will be making this every couple of weeks or so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Health reasons require that I remove all salt. I considered other review suggestions before I embarked with taking "liberties" with this recipe. In spite of my personal recipe contortions, it turned out with that wonderful flavor that I remember from beef barley soup. With the bonus of significant salt reduction! Here goes: I used a cast-iron dutch oven on the stove top, rather than the crock pot. Omit H2O, sugar, bullion, salt, and tomatoes. I used 1 1/2 lbs chuck roast, trimmed & cut to bite sized. Browned meat in the (hot) oil. Added my substitutions, and the remainder of recipe ingredients. I used tomato paste 1TBL (increase fluids additional 2 cups). Changed Black pepper to 1/2 tsp, added thyme 1/2 tsp. Used beef stock (from scratch), rather than H2O. Considered using Worcestershire, not used. Instead I used 8oz cremeni mushrooms, finely chopped). Added one finely chopped potato, with skin on. Had only frozen peas, subbed for mixed veggies. Brought covered dutch oven to boil. Reduced heat, & simmered for 1 hour. Discarded bay leaf. Add Barley cooked about an hour longer, or until barley done. Very flavorful Beef Barley soup. Will definitely make again. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States