Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Pretty good flavor. Just cut up the chuck roast into smaller pieces and cook it with everything at once in the crockpot on high for about 4 hours to make it faster. Can also use frozen carrots and onions instead of fresh to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Norma V
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Everyone tweaks it to their liking, here's what I did! I browned 1.5 lbs of stew beef, half an onion and tbsp of Worcestershire sauce. Then I made 2 cups of wylers beef boullion/2 cubes and threw it all in the crock pot and set it to high. I also added pepper, half the can of stewed tomatoes and two chopped up garlic cloves. I cooked it for about 3 hours adding another dash of Worcestershire in between and the bay leaf. I cut up all the veggies, 4 carrots, 4 celery stalks, 1/4 cabbage, handful of green beans and broccoli, no frozen veggies. I sauted them all in 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil for about 6 mins and prepared another 4 cups of wylers beef boullion. I fished out the stewed tomatoes that didn't fall apart, cut them up and threw everything in the crock. I also threw in half a fresh jalapeño, another bay leaf and a whole garlic and a cup of pearled barley. This soup is so yummy had to write my review! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Reduced the beef by 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nsearfoss
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Really YUM. I cooked onion with the beef in the crock pot. Not a fan of cooked celery so I just added more veggies. I have to eat gluten free, so I substituted a mix of rice and quinoa for the barley, and used "Better than Bouillon" as a replacement for traditional bouillon to make sure it was safe for me. So flavorful and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Remember to add the extra hot can of roasted tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe as is and added 3 cloves pressed garlic. I think that if you throw everything in the crockpot, it will come out more like a stew or pot roast. When I make it again, I will reduce the amount of sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Excellent! Added a splash of red wine, parsley flakes and a pinch of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was excellent but I ended up adding a can of tomato soup because it didn't quite have the red tomato-y flavor that I like so much in vegetable beef soup. Turned out amazing! Have already made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was good! I thought the recipe was clearly written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States