Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was decent but I changed a few things. I used Better than Bouillon Beef au jus starter because I find it has a beefier taste than their plain beef flavor. I also used all beef stock instead of water and I added more carrots, celery and two very large yams. Next time I will saute the celery and carrots because even after more than 10 hours cooking time in the crockpot (including 1.5 hours at high) they were still a bit crunchy. I also would add a leek or two -- also sauteed first -- if I make it again. All the juice was absorbed after one night in the fridge and it became beef barley stew. Not sure how to avoid this -- more liquid I guess. Overall it was okay --- I think it needed a bit stronger beef flavor (maybe more bouillon?) I even used a pinch of Brown's gravy starter but it wasn't as rich in flavor as I hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Yummy and filling. Serve with rice to make it even more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Wonderful! I used my own stock from shank bones. I also didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used crushed instead. We like to chew our soup so I think I might add some cubed sweet potatoes and shredded cabbage or Kale next time. We'll be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I had cubed beef. With 2 pots I mixed flour, salt n pepper in a bag and shook meat until coated. I seared in a few tbls of oil and set aside. Added 4 cups of broth to pot, scraped bits off and added beef. cook for 60 mins, add barley, bay n 1c water and cooked for 45 mins. Sauteed veggies in another pot like in step 2. followed recipe using only 2 cups of broth. when veggies were cooked i added 1tsp parsley, basil, and oregano with beef barley mixture. Simmer, covered for 15 mins. The meat stayed together yet cut easily with my spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Loved this hearty vegetable-filled soup! I agree with the other reviewers who suggest that it needs more seasoning. I always make as-is the first time, but I added some extra seasoning at the end to suit our families' taste, including about 3 T. Worchestershire Sauce. I think next time I would either do it all in the crockpot (low 10 hours?) or all in the soup pot. But it is wonderful enough to make it into my "I Love to Cook Book"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent soup. We used our home canned stewed tomatoes which had onions and garlic in them. We also used our home canned carrots and frozen baby lima beans in place of the frozen mixed vegetables. Other than that, this recipe gets 4 thumbs up --- my boyfriend and myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Maybe it was just what I made, but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Beef barley soup is my husband's favorite. I put the tomatoes in the food processor for a second so that there were no chunks. He LOVED it and it will be my go to recipe when he wants soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
We absolutely loved this recipe with a couple minor changes. I used a 2 lb. sirloin tip roast, a bit drier, less greasy but a still a lot of flavor. I substituted frozen green beans for the mixed veggies and added extra carrots. I also used 4 cups of beef broth (low sodium) and mixed 2 bouillon cubes with 2 cups water. Our house smelled wonderful!! Next time I may add a bit more barley, potatoes or parsnips. So many ways to add to an already great soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very yummy but not enough barley, I added more the next day. I didn't add the tomatoes and I did add bouquet garni because there wasn't any seasoning in this. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States