Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great soup and super easy! I put everything in the slow cooker, plus a dash of Worcestershire, except the barley and cooked it for 7 hours then added the barley for 20 minutes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Sorry but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I changed and added to this recipe so much that it is not the same. Still I gave it just 2 stars because the proportions are all wrong for me. I needed about 10 cups of water for the amount of meat and vegetables, which I didn't change. I used 1 full cup of barley and no tomatoes, which was my preference. Since I cooked in on stove top, I can't attest to the amount of cooking time, but even then I simmered the beef for over 3 hours until it was tender. If I had added frozen vegetables, I'm sure I would have had a stew instead of soup, even with the amount of extra broth I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this last night! I went to work and let my roast cook low and slow, came home and the rest was a breeze! I had everything already home to make this, except I only had a can of whole tomatoes instead of stewed, which still turned out great! My husband and I loved it and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Everyone in my family loved it! I followed the editor's version because I wanted to cook it on the stove. I used beef stock instead of bouillon and used the recommended fresh vegetables and frozen vegetables of my choice which included baby lima beans. You can't have too many vegetables! As others have said it is a good basic recipe that you can change to suit what you have in your cupboards or ingredients you prefer. I'm going to make it again today with bouilion because I don't have any beef stock on hand. I'm sure that will be good too. And, I think I'm going to try the spicy Ro-tel diced tomatoes. You can put most anything but sand in it and I think it will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The flavor was delicious. My only complaint is that it was way too thick for our liking so I added a Knorr's Stock-Bouillon cube and an additional 3 cups of water. Once the beef/barley was done, I strained and kept the liquid and skimmed off the fat. Did not add any frozen veggies at all but did add a couple of cubed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is an amazingly flexible recipe, as the review variations demonstrate. I had over-cooked the Christmas roast to the point of desiccation, and I didn't know how I was going to salvage the remains. I cubed it, put it in a stewpot with the barley, bay leaf, and a carton of Pacific Brands beef broth. That came to a boil and then simmered as I sauteed the other vegetables - another reviewer is correct - the frozen vegetable mix usually has carrots, so you don't have to add more - threw it all in together, brought it to a boil, then simmered for 20 more minutes. (I left out the tomatoes at my husband's request. That worked very well.) It was perfect with some home-made wheat bread on the side,and it tastes SO much better than Campbell's or Progresso. Thank you, Margoc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Really good flavor. I sauteed the vegetables then dumped the meat in to cook it and that worked perfectly while also cutting down the prep time to about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made this today and like others, put everything in the crock pot and slow cooked it all day. Very delicious. The only changes I made was used 2 lbs stew meat, doubled the water and bouillon cubes and add a couple tbsp of Worcester sauce. Serving for dinner and freezing the rest. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Venus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I always do my best to try the recipe out as written. I made this for lunch on Thanksgiving this year, and I must say that it was AWESOME. The only change that I made was that my mixed veggies already had carrots in it (so I didn't add more) and I also used crushed tomatoes since my husband doesn't like tomatoes. He ate it and was wanting more! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. It is a perfect thing to make when the snow is flying and you want to warm up (and hunker down).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States