Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
make it in the crock, add barley last hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by judy2304
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made this soup tonight, and as usual, I made a large quantity for freezing. I'm not one to measure much, but I made basically 4 times the recipe. I used about 3 cups of homemade reduced beef stock, 12 cups of water, 12 boullion cubes, 4 12 oz. pkg. frozen mixed veggies, 1 1/2 large onions chopped, 3 tbsp. sugar, 3 tsp. ground pepper, 1 tbsp. sea salt, 8 large fresh carrots sliced, 9 frozen garden tomatoes peeled and cubed, 12 stalks of celery sliced, and 1/2 large head of cabbage chopped. I didn't saute the veggies, but cooked them until tender in the broth mixture. Then I added the leftovers of 3 cubed roasts that amounted to about 6-7 lbs. The soup and broth are wonderful. I will freeze it in meal size portions and add precooked barley when it is used to prevent the barley from getting mushy. I soak and cook all grains in a rice cooker, and then package and freeze them for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I saute the vegetables and then throw everything in a crockpot and cook on low for 8 hours. We like it better without the roast but if you do put it in I would recommend half the amount. It was more like a stew than a soup with 3 pounds in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My husband said he thought this was the best roast I ever made! With the leftover meat and vegetables and stock I made a delicious soup the next day. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthy4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Loved this soup! I did make changes based on other reviews and my own preferences. First, I only precooked the beef; everything else just went raw into the crock in the morning. I cut the beef into large pieces and seasoned with Montreal steak seasoning, cooked ~3 hours the night before and then cut into bite-sized pieces. I left out the frozen veggies but used a whole 1-lb bag of carrots, added 3 large red potatoes in bite-sized pieces, and about 1 cup of butternut squash pieces as well. Left out the sugar and tomatoes, added a splash of soy sauce, upped the barley to 1 cup, and made about 10 cups of beef bouillon but only added enough to fill the crock. I kept the extra 2 cups or so to add to leftovers. I think this recipe was even better as leftovers. Easy and delicious, smelled great to come home to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Pretty good soup. Nice on cold fall/winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Yumm. Didn't use the slow cooker and roast. Just used stewing beef. It was easier, quicker and turned out just fine. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Excellent and easy. I used the stove top method with stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a very good base soup...I used 4 cups of beef broth instead of cubes & water, used stew meat chunks, add frozen green beans, and baby bella mushrooms. Cooked for 4 hours on high in crock pot. I also doubles the barley which I added the last half hour. Easy and a nice warm supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
made the soup today to the letter of the receipt and it is out of this world. i for see making it a few more times this winter!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States