Beef Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
It was pretty good. Everyone loved it. I just added 3 extra bay leaves and doubled the barely but I felt like it needed a little kick or zing for me to give it 5 stars. I'll keep experimenting but this recipe is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is excellent! Did it on the stove; great flavored soup. Will be making again and again! rjb Jan 2015
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gao Vang
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Simple yet flavorful! I didn't have barley so I replaced it with orzo. Works perfectly! I opt out the bouillon and used beef stock. Tweaked it with pepper flakes. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gao Vang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made for my husband and parents and it was delish!! The roast beef really makes it. Don't skip that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Matt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenny00004
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I only used 2lbs beef, and I didn't have beef bouillon so I used chicken. I put everything together in the crockpot and removed the beef to cut it up at the end but this turned out excellent. Very tasty soup and healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
i wanted so much to love this recipe. I used beef broth as recommended. The soup was good but it was missing something. It was satisfying to all and filling but everyone added hot sauce to give it some flavor. I am at a loss for was to add next time around. I guess I will read more reviews for suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This recipe is great! I skipped the step of browning the beef because I often throw things in the crock pot right before I leave for work and who wants to brown meet at 7am? Still, the meat comes out nice and tender. I also added a cubed a potato and some extra water because I like my soup more brothy. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is very good! Like others, I used frozen stew meat (about 2.5 lbs) and put everything in the slow cooker except for the barley, which I added about an hour before serving. I used beef broth in lieu of the water and bullion. I would definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing the recipe, MARGOC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this recipe and took half the vegetables out of pot pureed and placed back into soup, nice thickener :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States