Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Fabulous recipe. I followed other reviews and doubled the veggies. Changed the peas to 1 cup of mushrooms. Used 45/45 homemade stock/broth and 1 cup red wine. Added 2 bay leaves. Added one tablespoon of Worcester sauce. Added 2 cloves minced garlic. Used a cup of barley but since I couldn't find the quick cook kind, I used regular pot barley. These are minor changes but they gave the soup a real depth of flavour that just is wonderful. Great soup for a cold winter evening!! There weren't any leftovers and it was just 4 of us; will double the recipe next time. With a loaf of crusty bread, it was gone in no time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Fantastic! Thanks for the recipe! I omitted the peas though because of personal taste, but so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Delicious and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very good basically. Reduced barley to 1/2 c. Used a lot of veggies... Broccoli, carrots, green beans.. Put in near end so firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I used stew meat (uncooked) and regular barely. Cooked on low heat for two hours and the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Used leftover roast beef and cooked for 45 minutes, having used regular barley. I used half beef broth and half of the gravy/stock from my roast. This was most EXCELLENT and netted me sufficient adoration from hubs. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oven Mitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was an excellent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Came out a little salty for my taste so I would leave out the salt completely. Also a little too italianate as I was looking more for an English style soup so I would cut back on the Basil and oregano and work more with sage and thyme. I ended up scrabbling to save it, ended up throwing in half a cup of red wine and some tomato paste to make the very light taste a little more hearty and also it looked very sparse with only half a cup each of the carrot, celery and onion so I sauteed some extra of each and about doubled the amounts, and added a quartered and sliced zucchini. Not a bad jumping off point but the original recipe didn't work that well for me as I like very rich tasting soups that you virtually have to eat with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Decent base recipe, but bland for my taste. Loved all the veggies. Will try it in the slow cooker next time. Will try adding garlic, & maybe a bay leaf, & more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Tastes delicious. Note that I used 2 cups of barley. Don't do that. It absorbs all of the liquid in the soup. One cup would definitely do it; or even 3/4 cup. Tastes great though! I just heated up some extra beef stock, and will add that to the soup bowls so it actually looks like soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan&Nicky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States