Beef Bacon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Glorified pigs in a blanket! These tasted pretty good, although it took a LONG time. Just because of time restraints, this definitely won't be an "after-work" weeknight recipe... but I might make them again sometime in the future. My husband enjoyed them more than I did, so maybe it's just a guy thing. Beef and bacon! LOL I had a little bit of a hard time keeping the temperature low enough to just simmer. The butter kept boiling no matter how low I put it. I finally had to remove it from the burner completely for around 10 minutes to let it cool down and then return it to lowest heat setting for the duration. I added some chopped garlic to the butter and onions. About halfway through the simmering, I added a little chopped piece of garlic to the top of each roll. This gave it a little bit of extra flavor. (I also salt and peppered to taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
We are divided on this one. My husband loved it. I hated it. The beef tasted a lot like pot roast, which is ok, but not what I had expected. The bacon was awful. It was soft, but not chewy. I can't describe it, but I thought the texture of the bacon was disgusting. I did like the onions. I put them in the food processor when done and they made a nice gravy. I will not eat this again, but I know my husband will be asking me to make it. I give it 2 stars, he gives it 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
These were very easy to prepare even though the cooking time is long. The meat becomes tender and it has a nice flavor. They could be done as appetizers or as a main course. I will definitely make these again. They are great on their own but I think for variation they could be served with a red wine sauce, a blue cheese sauce or some other kind of sauce. I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raynorra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
These are awesome! Top sirloin was too expensive, so I changed a letter and went with tip sirloin :) And I used various seasonings before rolling. The broth makes good gravy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Kowitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
LOVE IT!! I will admit, I didn't think I would like it as much. The 2 hours of simmer is well worth the wait. I added a little garlic but I add garlic to everything. Overall: A++ I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great recipe. I used mustard on the beef and than a little pepper. No salt but a medium salted bacon. It is a recipe i will use again. My family liked it too. Anneke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These were so easy to make. They cant be healthy, but they were very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I pounded my steak first, froze it for half an hour & then cut bacon-sized strips out of it. I also clarified my butter because of the long cook time. Allrecipes gives instructions here http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Clarifying-Butter/Detail.aspx but it's easier to do in the microwave using a glass container, so that you can see the milky layer. These were incredibly tender & loaded w/ flavor, particularly since I served them w/ Mouthwatering Whiskey Grill Glaze (an allrecipes recipe). Great recipe. Thanks, Kelly Scraper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
great recipe I added a little brown sugar to the liquid.when it comes to the simmering I think two hours is too long and if the temp is too low it gels and if it is too high it overcooks.a taste extravaganza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
even though the final result came out tasting good, this was WAY too much of a hassle. the cook time was way too long for the results i got. and there were soggy problems so i braised them quickly at the end. just cooking them was unappealing, as it cooked in the butter. people liked them, but i wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States