Beef Bacon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I use sour pickles also with these,omg soooo good, family love em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Glorified pigs in a blanket! These tasted pretty good, although it took a LONG time. Just because of time restraints, this definitely won't be an "after-work" weeknight recipe... but I might make them again sometime in the future. My husband enjoyed them more than I did, so maybe it's just a guy thing. Beef and bacon! LOL I had a little bit of a hard time keeping the temperature low enough to just simmer. The butter kept boiling no matter how low I put it. I finally had to remove it from the burner completely for around 10 minutes to let it cool down and then return it to lowest heat setting for the duration. I added some chopped garlic to the butter and onions. About halfway through the simmering, I added a little chopped piece of garlic to the top of each roll. This gave it a little bit of extra flavor. (I also salt and peppered to taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
We are divided on this one. My husband loved it. I hated it. The beef tasted a lot like pot roast, which is ok, but not what I had expected. The bacon was awful. It was soft, but not chewy. I can't describe it, but I thought the texture of the bacon was disgusting. I did like the onions. I put them in the food processor when done and they made a nice gravy. I will not eat this again, but I know my husband will be asking me to make it. I give it 2 stars, he gives it 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
These were very easy to prepare even though the cooking time is long. The meat becomes tender and it has a nice flavor. They could be done as appetizers or as a main course. I will definitely make these again. They are great on their own but I think for variation they could be served with a red wine sauce, a blue cheese sauce or some other kind of sauce. I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raynorra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
These are awesome! Top sirloin was too expensive, so I changed a letter and went with tip sirloin :) And I used various seasonings before rolling. The broth makes good gravy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Kowitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
LOVE IT!! I will admit, I didn't think I would like it as much. The 2 hours of simmer is well worth the wait. I added a little garlic but I add garlic to everything. Overall: A++ I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great recipe. I used mustard on the beef and than a little pepper. No salt but a medium salted bacon. It is a recipe i will use again. My family liked it too. Anneke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These were so easy to make. They cant be healthy, but they were very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I pounded my steak first, froze it for half an hour & then cut bacon-sized strips out of it. I also clarified my butter because of the long cook time. Allrecipes gives instructions here http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Clarifying-Butter/Detail.aspx but it's easier to do in the microwave using a glass container, so that you can see the milky layer. These were incredibly tender & loaded w/ flavor, particularly since I served them w/ Mouthwatering Whiskey Grill Glaze (an allrecipes recipe). Great recipe. Thanks, Kelly Scraper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
great recipe I added a little brown sugar to the liquid.when it comes to the simmering I think two hours is too long and if the temp is too low it gels and if it is too high it overcooks.a taste extravaganza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States