Beef Bacon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I made this for a party and it was a big hit. The recipe called for to much butter but otherwise it was perfect. I will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
i made these as an appetizer--cutting them into pieces. they were the only plate that was finished! very tender and the flavor from the carmelizing of the onions was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Have some meat in the freezer that's needing used up so thought I'd give this a shot. The good points: They were good. :-) They also cooked well -- I many times have trouble with things that are rolled up getting burnt on the outside while not getting done on the inside. These started getting overdone in wee little spots, which annoyed me, but I seem to be more picky about that than most people. So I was overall happy with the results. They also are kind of interesting looking and I'd love to make mini ones for appetizers. The bad points: they were a hassle. I cut the meat as frozen as I could to make that easier, and once cut they were easy to roll. But still a bit of hassle for an everyday meal. (I used them for a main dish.) They are also quite fattening so not something I'd want to make too often. Maybe cutting meat into 1/8" strips helped burn off some fat. LOL. I sometimes wish we could do half points (4.5)... but I chose to knock it down to 4 just because of the hassle and fat factors. Just as a note, I too do not like onions cooked like this, but took the advise of another reviewer and made it with the onions for the added flavor and then just scraped them aside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Maybe I didn't do this right somehow, but when this was simmering, after 30min the butter was starting to brown but the rolls weren't cooked yet, so I discarded the burning butter and added some fresh butter back to the pan. After another 30mins the rolls were burnt, and well over done. I couldn't save anything and had to throw it away. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
These were really good! I added minced garlic. We actually made these for a lazy Sunday appetizer meal. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This was a big hit, and welcome suprise. made a double batch and they were all gone by the end of the night. The only down side was the cost, but well worth it for the right occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
These were only ok - I had high hopes from the good reviews, but for me they were actually too fatty. I must prefer bacon on the crisp side, because to have it that soft and tender was unappealing. People seemed to like them, but there were a lot leftover, so they may have just been being nice. Very tender and flavorful, but skip these if you dont like the texture of the white fatty part of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
These are sooooooooo good! I made for Bunco and many people were a little "scared" to try them (the look a little different), but those who did raved so much that everyone had to have one! The meat gets done PERFECTLY. Deliciously tender. Will definitely make again, I know the men in my house will love it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
On a whim, I made these appetizers to take to a friend's house. I thought they were good, but the men at the party literally ate ALL of them...within a few minutes! They couldn't stop raving about them. I thought they were easy to make also - the only downside is having my house smell like onions for the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
This recipe was easy and delicious. I added mushrooms to the onions and butter and it worked out great. I recommend that everyone try this recipe; I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RINNYLEIGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States