Beef Au Jus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made per notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made as an accent to the Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib... was simple to make (ensure you have the right type of roaster to use in the oven and on the stove)...I substituted venison broth for the beef broth.... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made this yesterday (as written) to serve with the "Foolproof Rib Roast". Would definitely omit the salt because rib roast rubs in general are salty. There was also a comment in the recipe to refer to the "footnote", but I couldn't find it. Also didn't care for the "cloudy" look of the au jus--used to a clear one. The taste over all was very good. Next time will either reduce or eliminate the flour. Overall though a very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
OMG!! My first rime rib (3 bones)The au jus really set it off as it melted in my mouth. Very easy...Merry Xmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I baked the custard. Went exactly by the instructions. The pudding before the oven was delicious! Then I baked it. It wasn't as great afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Used it as a guide and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
"beef with au jus", "au jus sauce", etc., just like "reducing down"...are all commonly used phrases by cooks. "au jus" means "with juice"! so the phrase "beef with au jus" means "beef with with juice". and about "reducing down"? as opposed to what "reducing up", "reducing right/left"? "reducing" means "make smaller or less in amount, degree, or size". come on cooks use terms/phrases properly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scrumdiddly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I hate gravy. As a result, I have never made it. Not once. Not ever. This year, I made it. Using this recipe. It was amazing, and it couldn't have been easier. I used GF flour instead of regular all-purpose flour, and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I will try it this weekend, its been a while that I made a prime rib but I know I still got it and I needed and excellent a jus recipe, and you guys are the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ludy Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynns713
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Easy, solid recipe. I didn't have to add many seasonings, as the meat drippings from my roast beef were very flavorful. I did deglaze with a splash of sherry before adding beef stock, threw in a pinch of thyme, finished with a tbsp of butter. I wasn't sure if I wanted to skip the roast and just drink the jus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Au Jus

Learn how to make a very simple pan sauce for your beef roasts.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States