Beef and Wine Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I enjoyed this soup, but my roommate did not. He didn't care for the strong wine flavor that was present. I used a smooth merlot that added depth but the overall recipe was less flavorful than I had hoped! I made the following changes / tweaks: added an entire chopped small yellow onion, used 3 cloves of garlic, added a 1/2 pound of sliced mushrooms, used approx. 6 oz. of dumpling style egg noodles and increased the tomato juice and red wine by 1 cup each. If I make this in the future (which I probably won't) I will increase only the tomato juice and broth by 1 cup each and decrease the wine by 1 cup. Some additional spices should be added for flavor, but I am not sure which ones. Thyme and parsley?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
This is one of the tastiest soups I've had in a very long time. The key I think is to get a good red wine. A cabernet or something like that works well, don't be tempted to use a really cheap wine as I just don't think it'll be as good. Also, I took to adding just a dab of sour cream as it works well with the broth. I will be making this soup again for sure, especially as the snow falls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
How can you say the Prep Time is 5 minutes? I find that deceptive - especially if one is looking for a fast and easy meal to prepare on a worknight. How is that calculated - once everything is brought together, chopped, diced, portioned, etc? I would put the Prep Time at at least 20 to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTEXAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We loved this, although I admit to making a lot of changes not b/c anything was wrong with the original recipe, I just tend to tinker as I cook. Anyway, I cooked soup bones separately to make the broth, and then added another 1# stew meat to the soup. I used a Snap Dragon Cabernet Sauvignon. Increased the garlic to about 3 cloves. Added a can of diced tomatoes in sauce. Used about 1 tsp sea salt. 1/4 tsp pepper. 1/4 tsp thyme. 1 Tbsp beef granules. Added some green beans from the garden half way through the day. Simmered all day in my crock pot. Omitted dumplings and instead cubed 2 yellow sweet potatoes and added them 2 hours before dinner. Delish! My husband ate 3 bowls!!! Served with a wheat beer bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is AMAZING! Healthy, easy and SO GOOD! My whole family LOVED it! Not the dumplings, though. We skip the dumpling step completely and serve it with crusty bread. Also, added thyme and parsley with the salt and pepper. Thank you, Elizabeth, for a new family fave!!!! It is requested I make this just about every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This had a very nice flavor. I was a little worried about equal parts tomato juice, wine and broth but it seemed to blend well. I used a cabernet, leftover roast & homemade stock and added a little beef base to compensate for the condensed flavor of the canned broth. There wasn't quite enough roast so I also added some lentils with the veggies (with extra water to cook them). I didn't make the dumplings because we don't care for them. I think in the future I would make the lentils standard for us as we really liked it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Excellent. Substituted egg noodles in place of dumplings after reading the other reviews. One of my favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Tastes great! I decreased wine to 1/2 cup, my kids are a bit picky! I did use my own dumpling recipe. I'm sure the others would have been great, I just didn't want to use eggs. Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I had some leftover beef roast in the fridge, so thought I would try this recipe. It turned out great! I omitted the wine since I didn't have any on hand. I used another dumpling recipe from this site: 1 cup all-purpose flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon white sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 tablespoon margarine, 1/2 cup milk. Dropped them by teaspoonful, covered, and simmered for 15 minutes. Can't wait to take the leftovers to work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I had some stewing beef cubes and did not feel like making stew so I tried out this recipe. I made two changes only to this recipe. I was using stew beef so I first lightly floured/seasoned and seared the beef to lock in flavor. Also we do not like dumplings so I omitted those. I was lucky enough to have a very, very good pinot noir wine left over from Christmas so I opened that and it was splendid in this soup. I will be making this recipe again. I agree, however, that you must use a very good wine (as you should whenever you cook with wine) or else there probably would not be as much flavor. Overall though a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States