Beef and Wine Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
This is one of the tastiest soups I've had in a very long time. The key I think is to get a good red wine. A cabernet or something like that works well, don't be tempted to use a really cheap wine as I just don't think it'll be as good. Also, I took to adding just a dab of sour cream as it works well with the broth. I will be making this soup again for sure, especially as the snow falls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
We loved the flavor of this soup; however, I didn't like the way the dumplings turned out and would like to use another recipe for the dumplings. It is a hearty and delicious meal on these cold and wet winter evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I decided to make this tonite because I'm enjoying cooking different types food. It was great. When I first started cooking it, I thought the wine was going to take over, but it combined with the other liquids came out great. I did use roll dumplings and they were really good. I do want to try the others too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was the 1st time I've ever made homemade soup & it turned out wonderful. Everyone loved it. Did not like how the dumplings turned out, next time I'll use Bisquick dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Great,easy and cheap. What a combination. You can eliminate the dumplings and just thicken with flour and water at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Very delicious soup. I would prefer a different dumpling recipe, though. Next time I'll probably use Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSTEVENS1972

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This recipe is fabulous, the wine adds an especially rich flavor to it. My only beef (teehee) is that it seemed a little salty. Next time I might substitute some of the condensed beef broth with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILYFONTES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Very delicious! My husband enjoyed it as well. He said it was "resturant" quality. I used a merlot red wine and seasoned the broth to our liking with different spices and sauces I had. I did use the dumpling recipe and thought it tasted fine. I will be making this soup again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Bennett Wesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chisholm, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
i loved this recipe. i did change the dumplings a little because of other reviews. i added some fresh parsley and some other spices. i also cooked the dumplings for 20 mins instead of ten. everybody loved this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
So simple, yet so FABULOUS! Instead of pre-cooking the beef, I just sauteed it with the veggies. I had to add a bit more flour to get the right consistency for the dumplings (I used extra large eggs, which resulted in a runny batter without the addition of extra flour). Thank you, Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States