Beef and Wine Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was a great soup, my family loved it. I did use more tomato juice and a little less wine and it was perfect. I also added some mushrooms too. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Maybe it was the wine I used, but no one in my family liked the flavor of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Alittle to strong for us....but good. It reminded us of a french meal. I think as a base for roast it'd be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This soup is EXCELLENT! I used meatballs in place of the stew meat, and it was wonderful! The longer you simmer, the better the flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
My husband loved this, but I thought it was much too strong. Next time I will either cut down on the wine or simmer longer to tame the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Hearty soup. I cut the wine in half and so glad I did. Made a great roast that I cut up to go in it. Used noodles vs. dumplings and thought it appropriate. Soup tasted even better a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I enjoyed this soup, but my roommate did not. He didn't care for the strong wine flavor that was present. I used a smooth merlot that added depth but the overall recipe was less flavorful than I had hoped! I made the following changes / tweaks: added an entire chopped small yellow onion, used 3 cloves of garlic, added a 1/2 pound of sliced mushrooms, used approx. 6 oz. of dumpling style egg noodles and increased the tomato juice and red wine by 1 cup each. If I make this in the future (which I probably won't) I will increase only the tomato juice and broth by 1 cup each and decrease the wine by 1 cup. Some additional spices should be added for flavor, but I am not sure which ones. Thyme and parsley?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
The soup is delicious but next time I would leave out the dumplings and just sprinkle the soup with a little cheese or a sprig of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
A very flavourful, quick and easy meal! From start to finish it was on the table in less than 30 minutes. I did not make the dumplings...just not a dumpling kind of family...but I did add some barley shaped egg noodles. My whole family loved this soup. I used a left over roast beef, and almost a cup of au ju from that meal. I cut the wine down to 1 cup, and used bloody mary mix instead of tomato juice. I will DEFINATELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I thought the soup was a little bland. Added some pepper flakes and it gave it just enough "kick." Also, browned the beef and then put everything in the crock pot on high for 4 hours. Didn't make the dumplins..too many calories. Will keep in recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States