Beef and Wine Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
My husband and I both really liked this recipe. The only difference I made was that I used beef bouillion and tomato bouillion instead of beef stock and tomato juice. I used a rich Sangioviese wine and it all melted together in a really delicious symphony of flavors. I will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I omitted the wine and even the kids loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Tastes great! I decreased wine to 1/2 cup, my kids are a bit picky! I did use my own dumpling recipe. I'm sure the others would have been great, I just didn't want to use eggs. Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We loved this, although I admit to making a lot of changes not b/c anything was wrong with the original recipe, I just tend to tinker as I cook. Anyway, I cooked soup bones separately to make the broth, and then added another 1# stew meat to the soup. I used a Snap Dragon Cabernet Sauvignon. Increased the garlic to about 3 cloves. Added a can of diced tomatoes in sauce. Used about 1 tsp sea salt. 1/4 tsp pepper. 1/4 tsp thyme. 1 Tbsp beef granules. Added some green beans from the garden half way through the day. Simmered all day in my crock pot. Omitted dumplings and instead cubed 2 yellow sweet potatoes and added them 2 hours before dinner. Delish! My husband ate 3 bowls!!! Served with a wheat beer bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I had some leftover beef roast in the fridge, so thought I would try this recipe. It turned out great! I omitted the wine since I didn't have any on hand. I used another dumpling recipe from this site: 1 cup all-purpose flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon white sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 tablespoon margarine, 1/2 cup milk. Dropped them by teaspoonful, covered, and simmered for 15 minutes. Can't wait to take the leftovers to work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great recipe, hubby & Mom loved it. I used 2 more tablespoons flour for dumpling recipe & cooked for 15 min instead of 10 with the lid on pot whole time. Also used ground beef instead, 3 more garlic cloves, vegetable broth instead of beef and a can of tomato sauce instead of juice. Delish! Thanks for the recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I had some stewing beef cubes and did not feel like making stew so I tried out this recipe. I made two changes only to this recipe. I was using stew beef so I first lightly floured/seasoned and seared the beef to lock in flavor. Also we do not like dumplings so I omitted those. I was lucky enough to have a very, very good pinot noir wine left over from Christmas so I opened that and it was splendid in this soup. I will be making this recipe again. I agree, however, that you must use a very good wine (as you should whenever you cook with wine) or else there probably would not be as much flavor. Overall though a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Good flavor, wish it was thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very good. Creates a rich broth. We don't make the dumplings, instead we serve with warm, crusty rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was really good. I added 3 cups of tomato juice and simmered it for about 40 min before adding the dumplings to blend the flavors a little better. I also added a little sage, basil and a bay leaf. Next time I will brown the meat in the pot for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States