Beef and Wine Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
i loved this recipe. i did change the dumplings a little because of other reviews. i added some fresh parsley and some other spices. i also cooked the dumplings for 20 mins instead of ten. everybody loved this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Very delicious! My husband enjoyed it as well. He said it was "resturant" quality. I used a merlot red wine and seasoned the broth to our liking with different spices and sauces I had. I did use the dumpling recipe and thought it tasted fine. I will be making this soup again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Bennett Wesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chisholm, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This recipe is fabulous, the wine adds an especially rich flavor to it. My only beef (teehee) is that it seemed a little salty. Next time I might substitute some of the condensed beef broth with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILYFONTES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Very delicious soup. I would prefer a different dumpling recipe, though. Next time I'll probably use Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSTEVENS1972

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Great,easy and cheap. What a combination. You can eliminate the dumplings and just thicken with flour and water at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was the 1st time I've ever made homemade soup & it turned out wonderful. Everyone loved it. Did not like how the dumplings turned out, next time I'll use Bisquick dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I decided to make this tonite because I'm enjoying cooking different types food. It was great. When I first started cooking it, I thought the wine was going to take over, but it combined with the other liquids came out great. I did use roll dumplings and they were really good. I do want to try the others too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
We loved the flavor of this soup; however, I didn't like the way the dumplings turned out and would like to use another recipe for the dumplings. It is a hearty and delicious meal on these cold and wet winter evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
This is one of the tastiest soups I've had in a very long time. The key I think is to get a good red wine. A cabernet or something like that works well, don't be tempted to use a really cheap wine as I just don't think it'll be as good. Also, I took to adding just a dab of sour cream as it works well with the broth. I will be making this soup again for sure, especially as the snow falls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States