Beef and Walnut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
DEE-LICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This did not go over as well as I'd hoped - my husband didn't care for it. I didn't add mushrooms (we didn't have any), so that may have changed the dynamic a bit. Also, the directions were slightly misleading, as I originally read the stew as simmering for 1 1/2 hours, which was way too long for the amount of liquid in the pot. Fortunately I caught it before it scorched. It's an interesting concept, walnuts in the stew, but it didn't taste exceptionally brilliant and didn't please the family as much as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah and Stuart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Made as directed, adding other veggies and served over rice. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
tasted great! especially the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was just okay. It lacked flavor and the walnuts didn't really add anything; wasn't crazy about the texture either. Definitely could have used more veggies to be considered a "stew" in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Great stew for a cold night. I substituted canned stewed tomatoes for the tomato juice and cut the walnut pieces small after roasting them slightly. After tucking into it, I realized that it would have been even more delicious if I had added a touch of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Sadly, this didn't go over at our house at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe and so did my kids. I did not have tomato juice, but I used an 8 oz can of tomato sauce and added water. I also served it over rice only because I thought my kids may enjoy it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
We did not care for this. Too many walnuts gave it an off flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Really great flavor. That's a LOT of meat though in ratio to the other ingredients. So, 8 servings or 2 servings... this is A LOT of meat -- really less like a stew that I would eat straight out, and more like an entree that should be served over rice or something (to level out the meat overdose!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States