Beef and Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Was a very easy and very good recipe. My husband not a tomato fan and he had no problem with the tomato base. Did not add the crush red pepper, but will add it next time for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've made this twice and both times my picky father said it was the best stew he's ever had. That's something coming from a 96 year old that thinks no one can cook anything better than his mother. The only changes I made was to use a handful of little red potatoes instead of regular potatoes and fresh green beans instead of peas. I put the green beans in at the same time as the potatoes which I cut in half. The herbs and seasonings were just fine. Just watch how big a sprig of rosemary you use, and if the bay leaves are small, throw in an extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I grew up HATING stew. My mother was a great cook, but this was something I could not like. I Made this stew a few weeks ago. It was so good. However I accidently picked up fresh tyme instead of the rosemary and added dried tyme as well. It was a very "tymey" dish, but still good. I am getting ready to make it again and will use the rosemary this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Came out too bland. Will have to retry with more/different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was good. I added canned corn and celery. I also added fresh garlic. I bough Bread bowls and served it in that. Thanks for the recipe i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
LOVE the pepper flakes... Would have never thought of it otherwise, gave it a great kick. Made it exactly as directed minus the rosemary (I thought I had some but didn't). Will use this as my go-to stew recipe after about a dozen different experiments. Served over egg noodles, that was some good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe. I added a can of chopped tomatoes and I added 30 minutes. I also added celery. It was tasty with a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe was great. I used it to clean out the pantry. I used a random can of beef chunks instead of fresh meat and a can of green beans instead of mushrooms. I also used dried herbs. I was worried that this would just taste like veggies in tomato sauce, but with proper seasoning it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Tasty. Had to use much more broth though. Will make again and again. Nice rosemary flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is by far the easiest and tastiest beef stew! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States