Beef and Vegetable Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Delicous, and simple. I did cook it more like a traditional stew, browning the meat, then adding the vegetables, stock and port and simmering for a couple of hours, because that worked best for me time-wise. Believe it or not, I actually forgot to add the tomatoes at the end, but it was wonderful nonetheless. The port flavour is quite subtle and pairs excellently with the earthiness of the mushrooms. Fantastic served with soem fresh, crusty french bread to sop up the sauce. I will definitely remember the tomatoes next time, and yes, there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I joined this site just so I can rate this recipe! It's delicious! If you like garlic - you'll love it. I served with egg noodles - and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
So Easy, And So Yummy!!! My Husband absolutely loved this one. I served it with Sauteed ranch potatoes instead of egg noodles. Next time I'll stick with the egg noodle though, they'll be better for catching all the yummy sauce. I substituited red wine (shiraz) for the port with no ill efects!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was really tasty. My grandma makes something like this without the wine. I served with homemade egg noodles and edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Photo by mrsblack
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
While cooking I thought this might be bland, but the first bite convinced me...this is a repeat!!! Awesome, & healthy!!! Served it over brown rice & it was delicious, bursting with flavors from all the parts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsblack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I thought this was really good! I used venison instead of beef but otherwise I followed it to a "T"! I didn't have egg noodles on hand so I served it with basmati rice over a bed of spinach. My fiance thought it was "interesting" and not in a bad way. I quite liked it and thought it was unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was great! The port was not overpowering at all. I've tried recipes in the past with wine in it and usually the wine is over powering but the port worked wonders with the meat. I did omit the sugar snap peas, not fans, and the mushrooms. I added carrots since I didn't have mushrooms. Soooo yummy. Served over mashed red potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was just ok. It was very boring, not a lot of flavor. I felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very good. The only thing we didn't have was port wine so we used beer instead but otherwise didn't change the recipe. The cherry tomatoes were from our garden but picked green over two months ago (before the frost hit) then ripened in the basement and they added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States