Beef and Vegetable Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
So Easy, And So Yummy!!! My Husband absolutely loved this one. I served it with Sauteed ranch potatoes instead of egg noodles. Next time I'll stick with the egg noodle though, they'll be better for catching all the yummy sauce. I substituited red wine (shiraz) for the port with no ill efects!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I joined this site just so I can rate this recipe! It's delicious! If you like garlic - you'll love it. I served with egg noodles - and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Delicous, and simple. I did cook it more like a traditional stew, browning the meat, then adding the vegetables, stock and port and simmering for a couple of hours, because that worked best for me time-wise. Believe it or not, I actually forgot to add the tomatoes at the end, but it was wonderful nonetheless. The port flavour is quite subtle and pairs excellently with the earthiness of the mushrooms. Fantastic served with soem fresh, crusty french bread to sop up the sauce. I will definitely remember the tomatoes next time, and yes, there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This had a pretty good flavor, but I wouldn't recommend the peas. I left the sugar snap peas in their pods and we didn't like that very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Made this the other night using some leftover shredded beef roast. Just put it in toward the end and warmed through. I left out the snap peas, not too crazy about those, and used fire-roasted canned tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes. Served it in a bowl over warm polenta porridge. Wonderful winter meal! My entire family loved it, and I plan to make it a staple meal in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WORSHIPWARRIORMT
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
this was soooo yummy but i did add some italian parsley, basil, more garlic, and thyme. It tasted wonderful!! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was really tasty. My grandma makes something like this without the wine. I served with homemade egg noodles and edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe! I did have two beef seasoning packets left from using the ramen noodles in a salad the day before that I used to make the beef broth, and I added more garlic. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I thought this was really good! I used venison instead of beef but otherwise I followed it to a "T"! I didn't have egg noodles on hand so I served it with basmati rice over a bed of spinach. My fiance thought it was "interesting" and not in a bad way. I quite liked it and thought it was unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
my little sister loved this and raved about the mushrooms in it. the rest of us just thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States