Beef and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
A good one-dish family meal for a weeknight. Easy enough to tweak flavors to suit personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emsderfer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I will try this again. I used 1.5 cups of brown rice, with 3 cups of water and increased the simmer time to 40 minutes. I'll add another 5 minutes next time. i used orange bell pepper and chopped tomatoe fresh from the garden. With a little tweaking I think this could be a good main dish recipe for our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My family enjoyed this meal. I used 1.5# ground beef and doubled the rice. I used beef broth straight from the can (ended up using about 3 cans altogether). I did add quite a bit of black pepper, it just seemed to fit with the flavors. It was nice to just put a lid on it and let it do all the work. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a good base recipe. Made it a couple of time but made changes. 1st time used beef broth instead of cube, added garlic(crushed or powder), frozen chopped onions, frozen mixed bell peppers, Italian seasonings and mix Italian cheeses from bag I had in house. 2nd time used same frozen vegies and garlic but added cumin and a bit of chipolte chili powder, half can of left over, drained, black beans and topped with shredded Mexican 4 cheeses. Was very good both ways. Husband wants to try it without bell peppers but add mushrooms and fresh spinach(2 of his favorite foods).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stephenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Really easy and the whole family liked it. I added a few of my favorite spices like paprika, parsely, garlic. I also used ground turkey instead of the beef. Came out great. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This recipe was good. It could have been better. It was a little bland. Next time I'll add some seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I read the previous reviews and made the commom changes: no peppers, but I added Worcestershire sauce, lots of salt, pepper, garlic powder, and corn. I also used Southwestern diced tomatoes. I waited for my family's response as I RARELY make a new dish. We served it in bowls and garnished with grated cheddar cheese. It was a huge hit! My hubby ended up putting his in a taco shell with sour cream and taco sauce! I love that I have something easy and new. My oldest daughter is always looking for potluck dishes to take in to work, I can't wait to share this with her. Maybe not BEST, but surely DARN GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
My husband loved this. He doesn't like canned tomatoes so I added red pepper along with the green. Also when cooking the beef I added a Lot of Worshestshire sauce, and "beef base" as oppossed to the boullion. He's been asking for this every night since...It was a hit!!! Thank you!!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This recipe was very tasty! I put it in a baking dish at the end covered it with the cheese and baked it in the oven until the cheese was bubbly. I then served it with home made garlic bread....it was a hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessye
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I spiced it up a lot, and plan on spicing it up some more next time I make it, but overall, it was easy and delicious, which is a great combo for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States