Beef and Pasta Skillet Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
As written this recipe would have rated only 3 stars with my family. It is a good start but for our tastes it needs some help. I used all fresh vegetables zucchini, onions, yellow peppers and tomatoes. I cooked my pasta as usual and added it to my sautéed vegetables and ground beef. I wanted my vegetables to remain tender crisp. Two minced cloves of garlic and some finely chopped basil were added just before I stirred in the pasta. As I plated I sprinkled freshly grated Romano and fresh ground pepper. I was only disappointed because there were no leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is a great base recipe, but we all agreed it was WAY too much meat to pasta ratio - I would double the amount of noodles next time. I also think the beef needs to be seasoned with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. We used onion and fresh mushrooms in place of zucchini and squash. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
The recipe really easy to prepare and delicious. I added a finely minced onion and clove of garlic to the beef while is was browning (for some extra flavor). I also added some diced sweet red pepper to the tomato and zucchini for added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe, but there was definitely not enough pasta to feed 5 of us. Also, I agree with the other comments that some onion and salt is needed. I will add those the next time I make this, but I will certainly make it again. I love cooking with zucchini and squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Nice, quick and easy one skillet supper. I added onion,salt and pepper, and just a bit of Italian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was an excellent dish. I made this without the squash per hubby's likes. I used 1/2 bag of frozen corn (16 ounce size) and one stalk of fresh broccoli. After I sauteed the onions then browned the ground beef, I mixed in the corn and cooked about 2 -3 minutes. Then I added the beef broth and pasta. When the pasta was done I added the Italian diced tomatoes and broccoli and cooked until the broccoli was steamed yet still bright green. Colorful and tasty. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Love it! So fresh tasting and easy! I didn't use beef broth (only had chicken broth in the kitchen) and it was fine. I used regular diced tomatoes instead of Italian and just added a little Italian seasoning. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by i-be-leo
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Quick and delicious, my girl friend and I made this after a long day and it hit the spot also we added crushed pepper while cooking to give it a little kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I added garlic, onion, and about a cup more of pasta. A great weeknight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This recipe is a good way to get accustomed to trying whole wheat pasta. I had never tried it before until making this recipe. It also has the squash and tomatoes, making it even more nutritious. I didn't think the ingredients came together and transformed themselves into anymore than their components, but they were all flavored lightly and nicely. I followed the cook times, but the pasta only needed the lowest cook time suggested. The exception being after adding the squash I turned the heat up to medium and cooked it for 10 minutes covered. Then, removed the lid and added 3 more minutes to sufficiently cook the vegetables. I drained the beef and even the can of tomatoes. Despite thinking draining the tomatoes was odd, the pot had sufficient liquid with the squash and it kept the sauce from tasting too much like tomato and more like beef broth. I used 93% lean beef from Whole Foods and their organic Italian seasoned diced tomatoes store brand. This made a quick one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States