Beef and Onion Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used one big onion (I can't afford three whole cups right now, I'm on a pretty tight budget), increased the garlic and I did not use the whole amount of salt called for. I served this over buttered egg noodles with roasted broccoli on the side. My husband and kids ate the whole skilletful--my husband made a comment about how this was like stroganoff but without the sour cream. This couldn't have been easier to make and it was great on the budget which tickled me. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This turned out well. I mostly followed the recipe, making changes primarily based upon what I had. I added salt and pepper to the dredged meat and browned it separately, removing it to a bowl while I cooked the onion and garlic. I do think that step is important as you can brown the meat adequately. I needed to use up some marsala wine so started with that and added beef bouillion to make the 1 1/2 cups. I used Balsamic instead of cider vinegar and cut down on the thyme as it can easily overpower a recipe for me. About halfway through I ended up adding another cup of double strength beef broth as this was getting quite thick. I admit to not measuring the onion - I used 2 large red onions and cut on the vertical instead of dicing, so that might account for the thickness issue. I also added more garlic as we like that flavor. The beef was tender and very flavorful and the onions were sweet without being overpoweringly sweet. I would not add any other vegetables as this was simple and felt complete on its own. Ended up serving this over noodles with a dollop of sour cream. It was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very tasty! After browning the meat in batches & removing while I added onions & garlic, sauteed for a bit and then added 1/2 c broth to deglaze the pan, scraping all those luscious bits; then tomatoe paste and remaining herbs/spices. once mixed then added remaining 1c broth and meat. before tender I had to use more broth. Boy does this taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this using pork stew meat. I added 2 carrots, 3 small potatoes and 1 small can of mushrooms. It is now my favorite stew recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really liked this recipe. It is a little different than usual, but in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was good - the only thing I will omit the next time is the thyme. It was a little over powering to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wow. This is delicious. Deceptively simple, and the perfect destination for all that round steak I had lurking at the back of the freezer. The secret's in the caramelized onions, so don't skimp on that step. I didn't have any apple cider vinegar on hand, so used 2tsp of balsamic instead. Also added a sprinkle of red chili flakes and a pinch of cayenne, as we like a bit of heat. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Jane Judge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was simple and pleased my husband. The chuck roast I used was a little tough so next time I will use a better cut of meat. I cooked this 3 hours and the meat was starting to fall apart in shreds. I used ketchup instead of tomato paste as I refuse to open a whole can for just a spoonful. This had a tangy flavor and was really different from a traditional stew. It needed a lot more "gravy" though. Thanks, this was a nice meal and it sure smelled great as it was simmering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Oh my gosh! This is the best stew ever! I didn't have tomato paste, so I used an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. Also added in four potatoes. Mixed it all in the slow cooker and put it on high for 4 hours. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sportyredsaab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Not as flavorful as I was hoping but is a good comfort food. We served it over rice. All agreed that it would make an awesome base for stew. Next time I'll add all the stew vegetables and make some dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States