Beef and Mushroom Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Only reason I gave 4 stars instead of five was because I had to tweak the spices quite a bit. Otherwise was too bland for my taste. But this was really good. Definitely use red peppers instead of green. I also added cheese into the meat mixture. Did not parboil the peppers as I was worried they might become too soft after baking them. They turned out wonderful. Nice and firm but soft enough to eat. We loved this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Very good but I took other people's advice and used more spices...cayenne, paprika and garlic all added to the meat at the beginning rather than at the end. I will probably make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This recipe was easy to make and is a good starter recipe. I added alot of spices and garlic but it still was bland. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Hey Bob, I'm so happy that I wasn't the only person in the world who considered making stuffed peppers using a brown gravy instead of the same ol' tomato sauce. O.K., so I didn't use beef, however, the thought entered my mind as I was trying to figure out a way of utilizing my leftover lamb from Easter. I specifically sought out this type of recipe and was thrilled to actually find one! YIPPEE, family loved the change! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Great family fare! Thanks for the tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I thought they were fine, but nothing special. I would make them again, but I would use more spices then the recipe calls for. I ended up having to put hot sauce on them just to make it more flavorful!! Granted I didn't use extra gravy, I didn't add any after it had been in the oven. But that shouldn't have made much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I had so many peppers from my garden this year, I didnt know what to do with them all. I found this recipe and made it for a BBQ my family and I were going to. EVERYONE there flipped out over these pepper. Thank you so much for sharing. My friends and I will be making these again and again. Oh, just one more thing. I added some crushed garlic and toppped it off with some garlic and pepper cheese. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I had never thought of just using meat, mushrooms and gravy to stuff a pepper before. It's a tasty result!! I made some variations to the original recipe. NOTE: I changed the recipe to 1 serving (1/2 pepper per person). First, I doubled the beef in the recipe. I then cooked in (I'm estimating the measurements) 1/8 Cup Worstirshire Sauce, couple splashes of Balsamic Vinegar, 1 tsp. each of oregano, basil, cilantro, and parsley to the browned beef. Then I added the gravy. I stuffed the peppers and put them in the oven. Then I used the extra beef with another jar of sauce to make a side dish with white rice. Such a yummy meal! It's a must try. My husband and I couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I'll make it again but, it isn't "out of this world" or anything. It was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I made these the other day and they did happen to turn out very well -- definitly something different for dinner. I just need to find some way to spice it up a little better something to knock you in the face when you eat it . Overall, a wonderful starter recipe and especially easy to make if you are not the Ultimate Chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States